Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


January 08, 2011

10:06 a.m.

Looking at Snow

I sit at the little table by the living room window. Kitty comes and climbs up the back of my robe, sits on my shoulder looking out at the 6" of snow we got last night. Our gig in New Jersey was cancelled around noon yesterday. It was a tricky call, gauging weather and attendance, the three-hour drive each way. In the end we'll be able to reschedule, probably in April. A few people from our list showed up anyway, disappointed, even though we sent a mass email right when we found out. Carol feels hugely disappointed and guilty. I am just grateful. I got another day of much needed rest, and today, a headstart on the shoveling I must do soon. In two weeks I'll be well enough to sing our next set of gigs.

It's so silent and bright outside. I went out first thing and filled the suet feeders, scattered some seed on the ground for those birds too big to perch on the squirrel-proof feeder. Deer tracks crossed the front yard. A chickadee squawked in the beauty bush. My hands froze, sweeping the back porch. I just wanted to move the car in case the plow comes, so I didn't wear gloves. Will not make that mistake again.

Now the sun peeks through a silver-white sky. I'm a little slow getting started today. I need to shovel and do the hand wash, get out for some errands. Empty and clean the litter box. The coughing is less, the congestion ever so slightly better. It's chilly here in the living room but Smidge is on my lap and I am so happy. All those branches with snow on them, and every now and then a chunk falling. The pellet stove whooshing along in the parlor. Life at its best.

Since I did not have to travel yesterday, I cleaned my tiny bedroom. The little marble topped bedside stand finally found its place next to the bed. That required moving a lot of other crap and a smaller lamp stand, and vacuuming up months of dust bunnies along the wall. The room is pretty much kitty proofed now -- nothing she can get into and bug me if I'm not ready to get up yet. Just in time, too: this morning she got me up early, mewing in her tiny voice from the parlor, "Mommy! Where are you?? Get up!!" I fed her (not interested) and went back to bed. The LR door was closed as usual, the big 5' high plywood blocking the other doorway. An hour later, I felt her jump onto my bed. She must have leapt over the plywood, finally. I didn't think she would be able to scale it for a while longer. But, clever kitty, she's a circus star in training. My sleep is no longer safe. I wonder what I'll do now!

Meanwhile, though, there is the hand wash and the litter box and the errands. Rose will come by and help me trim Smidge's talons. I'll have dinner over there tonight, and maybe bring some knitting along. Winter's not so bad, aside from the cold.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!