Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


January 09, 2011

6:37 p.m.

Still Good

And the long weekend is nearly over. I did get a few important things done around the house: to wit, realigning the top shelf in the armoire and cutting the dowel for hanging clothes; sorting out my little bedroom; sweeping and vacuuming mounds of sawdust, insulation and plaster detritus from the demo'd upstairs bedroom so Smidge can play up there on a sunny afternoon (she loves to chase flies); general cleaning of house and washing of dainty undergarments. There was also a certain amount of shoveling from the two snowstorms we've had. I understand we're in for a Nor'easter on Wednesday. I'm already out $80 this week for the plowing. Yuck.

I guess I don't really love snow.

These little pockets of order make me happy, though.

I also put Sticky Paws double sided tape in a few places that Smidge is now either able to leap onto, or upon which she favors honing her little sawnails. Rose finally did come over and help me trim them today. Smidge protests vehemently.

She has discovered the joys of drinking water from the leaky bathtub faucet. This is a good thing; it means some of that water doesn't go to waste, and gives her something new to do. Fortunately I have my own well and don't pay for town water.

Last night was an adventure in grumpiness. Four a.m., Smidge jumps onto my bed. She's blocked out of my room; I even put some cardboard higher than the plywood so she'd have to scale about 6-1/2 feet to get over it. I just couldn't believe she was capable of it. But... there she was. I got up and tacked a towel higher than the cardboard. Half an hour later -- she jumped on my bed. I was livid. I nailed an expanding screen all the way up to the top of the doorway and went back to bed. An hour later -- she jumped on my bed. It was then I finally figured out she was squeezing in through a bottom corner of the plywood that wasn't affixed with a butterfly nut. It's flimsy enough she could muscle her way through. I summarily ejected her and blocked it with some heavy books and a stepstool.

By 7:30 she was wailing because she couldn't get to me. Now, when I say "wailing" I mean she was plaintively mewing in her tiny voice. I heard it through the earplugs. By then I was missing her, so I got up and sorted it all out. It was not a very cheerful morning because of the lost sleep and the aggravation, but I expect it won't happen again. I had to remind myself that she's just being Smidge. We have to work out how to live together.

Anyway it's the start of another work week and I get up at 5:00, so she'll have no long wait to see her mommy for a while.

She really needs a kitty companion. NO; NO MORE CATS UNTIL THE SUMMER. But they'd sleep together and keep each other warm. They'd play together and stop bugging me. NO. NOT YET. WAIT UNTIL SHE'S GROWN AND THEN GET HER AN ADULT COMPANION. DO NOT GET TWO KITTENS. YOU'RE STARTING YOUR HEAVIEST FOUR MONTHS OF TOURING EVER.

But isn't that the time she NEEDS another little friend? Otherwise she'll be alone for days and days on end...

YEAH. AND THEN THE NEW KITTEN WILL NOT BOND TO YOU BECAUSE YOU'RE NEVER THERE.

...and on it goes.

********

I cooked chicken and veg in the crockpot and didn't wait long enough. Chicken was done, veg were still rather crunchy. I put the rest on low til I go to bed. It'll be fine tomorrow.

Hands are flaring badly.

I've started to knit finger puppets. I took a look through my yarn, which is in a few different places, some still packed. I have a marvellous assortment of yarn, some of it I didn't even remember acquiring. It made me happy.

And that's about all there is to talk about, really. I think I'll watch a bit of a Netflix and rummage around for a cookie.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!