Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


June 14, 2009

7:54 p.m.

Jammy Hour

My landlady, Sunny, and her squeeze came up today to take some photos of the apartment. She'd asked yesterday if she could, sounding very apologetic, but it wasn't such a big deal and it was my goal to get the place showable by tomorrow anyway. That in no way means it's not cluttered, but at least enough is packed that it doesn't look like an earthquake just passed through.

It always feels funny to think of her as my landlady; she's younger than I am, and it was her parents that I originally rented the apartment from, years ago. She's been absolutely great, and we've had nice chats on the rare occasions when our paths have crossed in the parking lot.

She mainly wanted to have something to send to applicants to show that the apartment is great for a single person as opposed to a couple. One male person asked how high the ceilings were, because he said he was very tall and didn't know if the slanted ceilings would be a problem. They're only slanted on the right and left sides of the house, of course, not in the areas one is likely to be standing straight up in. Curious, I measured the ceilings, which are about 7'8" high. They were able to get some very nice photos of various rooms, in spite of boxes and so forth.

She commented on how much she liked the colors I'd painted, and said that I could leave the spare cans of paint I had left over. Whew. I didn't want to have to transport them. I'm only taking the Golden Ember from the breakfast nook because there's a lot of that, and it's so scrumptious I'm sure I'll find a use for it in the house.

She also relieved me of several stacks of books, and a big stack of DVDs/videos I needed to move along. She works at a library, so she said she could donate most of them there. They were taking up a big portion of my kitchen floor. What a relief to see space.

Packing, packing.

All the time I'm thinking, "I love being an independent woman, but sometimes doing everything all by yourself is tedious!"

********

All the last week I've had the most extraordinary dreamscapes. I don't recall another period like it. They're so varied and long I hardly remember the stories later, only the colors, the diversity of places, the richness of plot. Last night I slept for ELEVEN HOURS. I knew I'd gotten short on sleep, but I never expected to pull a shift and a half. I hope it helps me get through the week.

I think I'm starting to get a little nervous, too. Tonight I have a weird, recurring little sharp stomach ache. Just a pulse now and then. I did run out of Protonix for a few days, and took Prevacid instead, which doesn't seem to work as well. Maybe that has something to do with it, too. And oh yeah, I'm moving in two weeks. To my house that I BOUGHT, that has changed my whole life. And oh yeah, I have to put homeowner's insurance in place in the next few days. Another learning curve.

Enough. I'm making myself more nervous thinking about it all; I believe I'll just brush my teeth, write down a couple of phone numbers I'll need tomorrow and get into my jammies.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!