Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


February 04, 2009

9:47 a.m.

Carrying On

Another sunny Florida day. I suppose I should have decided to run this morning but I really don't want to. We've been staying up fairly late and it's hard to get up in the morning. A little glum, a little backache from the sofabed, vivid dreams of loss and leaving. At some hour this morning I dreamed that the band was singing a rousing, three-part-harmony version of Marty Robbins' El Paso (what a great song from my childhood) and I was singing with my face all scrunched up and tears filling my eyes. For a song without a bridge, that's one of the greatest. It's also a very effective weep story. If I need to get something out of my eye, I can just sing a few verses of that and it'll wash right out.

We packed very lightly to save on luggage weight, because we knew we'd be able to do laundry here. Still I think I could have brought an extra shirt or something. For once I underpacked clothing.

I just got word that Amanda (Carol's Sisterdaughter) is going to make pancakes. Yum. I'm counting on real maple syrup, since she's a chef. Why would they settle for Aunt Jemima's? I'm rather carb ravenous this morning. Maybe it's because I just ate a little chicken and salad last night, prior to our very silly game of Scattergories.

So I don't know what we're going to do today, after the pancakes. Carol is going to see her mom this morning, and I know I need to practice. Beyond that, maybe take a walk. It's three more days until our next gig, so we can be as drifty as we like. We could sit around and sing old western songs, or do laundry. I saw a rerun of a very early episode of Star Trek Next Generation last night. They all looked so young and trim. Data's character didn't seem as fully formed as it was later on, but Wes was pretty tall so I think it wasn't the first year. The plot of this one was slightly lame. Still, I loved that show to pieces!

********

Rose wrote and pointed out that, in fact, I am organizing my life to accommodate a dog, though it may not look like it right away. It's more of a long term plan. The home based work, the eventual house with Darwin. I have to be content with that. Meanwhile, carry on, I suppose.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!