Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


February 05, 2009

10:30 p.m.

Poking Around

This is what happens when I run out of yarn. I have spent every spare minute today exploring Facebook. I ignored it as long as I could, but I was looking for a particular songwriter friend who seems to have disappeared from the scene, and the only link I found was on Facebook. You can't communicate with anyone unless you join, so I went ahead. Within a couple of hours I'd connected with half my high school graduating class. It was like walking into a room filled with everyone I've ever known! Who knew it was all right there?? Well, everyone else, apparently. So now I'm on Facebook. I loaded some photos, tagged 14 friends, and am getting lots of messages and cute things sent to me. How fun! Just what I needed to shirk whatever remaining responsiblity I had down here.

Chris and I took a good, brisk walk today, and I practiced some, but really other than that I loafed. The lot of us went out to dinner -- Chris, Carol, her mom, sister and neice, and I. Then back to her mom's place where everyone played hearts except me (I'm exempt), who played vigorously with the cat. We also had a taste test of a chocolate cake Amanda made. She's trying to replicate a certain bakery cake for someone who, if he likes it, will order them from her from now on. He buys a lot of them for his clients so it would be a regular order. Hers was so far superior to the store bought one, there was really no comparison. She'll make another one tomorrow with a couple of adjustments and take it to him.

Ah, my hands are rather a misery right now. The first half of the flareup is pretty intense.

I had a peculiar dream early this morning. It was about the singer songwriter I mentioned above -- I'll call her Jeanette. I had just moved to a farmhouse on busy Rt. 6 in Connecticut. She was on tour and staying with me for a few days. Instead of a car, she had a little cart that was pulled by a miniature donkey, about as big as a dog. She was on the shoulder of Rt. 6 getting ready to get pulled up the hill by this little donkey (whose name was Sandy), and I was a bit concerned about traffic and their safety. Suddenly Sandy got loose and ran across the road. There was another farm there with some horses; I guess he wanted to go visit. There was no traffic just then and I ran across after him, calling his name. When I got to him I picked him up in the way we pick up Rose's cat Linus, scooping him from the near side like a backhoe and flipping him onto his back, cradled in the arms. When I did this, he turned into the black dog from the Humane Society. I ran with Black all the way back across the road and to my car, where I put her into the back seat so she wouldn't run away.

That was about it, except for Jeanette saying that she'd arranged for Sandy to stay with someone else the first night, as she didn't know whether I had a barn. I was trying to remember what my property looked like. I thought I had a barn. I guess I'd just moved in.

Tomorrow's our last lazy day here. We'll rehearse a bit, and I might run if it has warmed up some. It's flat here so it gets pretty windy. Maybe I'll work on the scarf I brought... the never-ending seed stitch.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!