Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


December 18, 2008

12:48 a.m.

Lovely Day, Pre-Storm

In response to Poolagirl�s challenge -- to google my childhood nickname and post a photo of what comes up -- I had to get into my third nickname before anything of interest appeared. My dad used to call me Sis, as in Sister. It seems appropriate that I nailed a group called Sirens In Sanity. Here they are:

Aren't they fabulous? All empowered and gleeful and midriff-baring. Apparently this group has been together for many years and they do all kinds of performances. And they always look happy. Why, just like me.

********

I took a trip to TJ Maxx today, to get miscellaneous Christmas gifts. I love this store. Most of my dishes are from there -- wonderfully mismatched, one-offs, discontinued, irregular -- and their "bath stuff" section is great. I had included a Lily of the Valley room spray in the B&B gift basket I made Rose & Marc last month, and she loved it so much she wanted to know where I got it. They had two more left, and at five bucks each, I had to get them both for her. I also got little gifties for Carol's mom and sister who will be visiting -- soy candles and soap.

I was a little stuck for Chris. Guys are harder for me to shop for. I'm not quite settled on that yet.

But it's almost all done. I still have to come up with something sweet for Wes, who has been so attentive, calling me daily to see how I am. Sweet... that reminds me... if you've never tried Tiny Trapeze handmade marshmallows, try to find them at Wholefoods. Even if you don't think you like marshmallows. The chocolate ones are the best. Maybe I can find some of those for him, even though he's trying to get off sugar. Anyway, it was pretty successful today and now the best part is wrapping them.

********

I talked with Dar tonight and we got onto the subject of oldies that we love... I had to look up the lyrics to Marty Robbins's "El Paso" and read them out loud, through tears. He had me look up Gene Pitney ("Only Love Can Break a Heart") and listen to a couple of songs. We decided that, when we have a house and he can take some times off work, we'll have Oldies Night at home and listen to all our beloved old recordings. Jimmy Rogers... the Everley Brothers. I said we could dance and play Twister. He said, plug in the lava lamp and get out the Mr. Microphone! Then when we're all sweaty we can shower with Soap on a Rope.

********
My stomach felt much better today. Suddenly my body is detoxing. I can't believe all the unscheduled trips to the loo. Perhaps I should alert the media.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!