Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


December 15, 2008

5:34 p.m.

Home Safe

Ha, I typed "Home Sage" at first. Does that mean the endoscopy made me wiser?

I confess I was a little nervous last night. And this morning? Thirsty isn't even the word. No water or anything after midnight, and I ended up going 16 hours without. Aside from them running quite late (I waited an extra hour and a half to go into the procedure room), it was all fine. Wes sat with me as we waited in the prep room, held my fingers when the IV made them cold, tucked blankets around my feet. I told him he was a great nurse. He said, "You'll be doing this for me soon!"

Everyone was very nice, and as I felt the first wafting sleepy sensations, my doctor said, "Enjoy your nap!" And that's all I remembered until I heard someone say, "Okay, Bornearly, you're all done!"

It took a few minutes for me to open my eyes (I was a little cross-eyed) and say anything. Wes was there again. They sat me up and gave me some water, which irritated my now-scratchy throat a little, so I just took sips. After a while I was able to get dressed. The nurse said he "hadn't found much," but that official results would be available in a week. I wonder then if he didn't find an ulcer. Well, that would mean no antibiotics anyway, which is probably good.

Parched! Parched all the way home! Sucking on a water bottle and still parched. We stopped at my bank and his bank, and then he delivered me to my door. He wanted to go up the stairs with me but he doesn't have a downstairs front door key, and it has to be manually locked after he leaves. So I went up the stairs on my own, and he called me when he got to his place ten minutes later.

In celebration I turned the heat up to 70. A bit of leftover stirfry later, I am feeling tired but much more myself. I plan to take it easy, drink water, maybe watch something. Early day tomorrow at the car dealership. Snow tires; just in time. It's supposed to sleet.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!