Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


December 14, 2008

4:14 p.m.

Gig, and Then

The drive to Lenox was cold. West on the Pike, suddenly the trees turned into an icy, broken forest on either side. Crystalline and splintered. Birches bowing to the road, stuck. The tops of pines, aborted, branches pointing down. I wondered how long, how much damage.

The yoga center hadn't lost power anyway, and our gig went on as scheduled. More renovations and "improvements" gallop apace there; they remove nearby parking spaces to put statuary, and enlarge the distant parking lots that are hard to walk from in icy weather. I parked up a hill. I'd brought a bit of food, feeling that I'd better not eat there this time. It's the first time I haven't taken advantage of the free meal. But it was good; I played hungry, and didn't have a stomach ache. I ate a bit on the way home, and a bit more at home, though it was late.

The gig was as usual; nice audience but under-attended, in a gorgeous, large room used for chanting and yoga classes. Quan Yin looked on. They apologized for not more people. There was a couples counselling class upstairs, they told us, containing 183 people. We wondered, who's the single person? Or maybe there's a threesome. I sold a couple of solo CDs (gratitude!) and didn't blow any chunks playing, though I had to concentrate hard.

Loading out in the bitter, clear night, my mates and I talked a bit. It felt like visiting friends -- rather than band business as usual. Nice. Carol's sister and mom are coming up from Florida for Christmas week and they said they'd love to have me come over one of those days. I love her mom. She's a character and a joy. Her health isn't so good these days, nor her memory.

Packing up, Carol slipped a wrapped gift into my passenger seat. I quizzed her and she smiled and said, "Nothing!" I told them they were so on top of the Christmas thing... making inner note that I haven't even decided what exactly to give them yet. I never leave it this late! But Carol said, "You shouldn't be spending money on any presents this year!" I'll come up with something, I'm sure. Some inspiration will hit me, after I'm done with the endoscopy tomorrow and I can think clearly about the next week. Anyway I put the lone present under my pretty, fake tree and it looks lovely there. It seems to be a birthday/Christmas present, which means I can open it on the earlier date, my birthday.

Dar opened Oliver! night before last, and it's going well. I get to go see it later this week. He keeps fake-complaining about the 9-year-old boy who plays Oliver, who apparently is brilliant. Great singer, great kid actor. Dar complains that Oliver is stealing all the focus to his Fagin. Finally I interrupted him today and said, "Well, he's smaller than you, right? So just kick his ass!! What's he gonna do, cry?" We laughed so hard riffing on that one we almost split a gut. "They'd never believe him," I added; "You're the Equity actor! They love you!" Thinking about this 65-year-old man with a vendetta against a 9-year-old for being more locally famous. Still makes me chuckle.

The other night he called me on the way home from dress rehearsal, and was about to go in somewhere to get a takeout cup of tea. Five minutes later he called back and said, "Oh my God, I forgot I still had my teeth blacking on!" He had not gone into the place yet, and though I dared him to, he wouldn't. He paints them up to look all stained, with a couple missing. He said the makeup takes a long time, fake beard and all. I think he even went for a prosthetic nose. I can't wait to see him.

I decided that between now and Christmas, now that this gig is over, I'm going to stop worrying and relax and heal. Do whatever I want to and stop making niggling I'VE GOT TO GET THIS DONE OR I'LL BE A TOTAL FAILURE AND THE WORLD WILL END lists. So today I:

slept in
puttered on the computer
refilled the vaporizer
redesigned my "holiday book special" page for our fans who get the newsletter
worked out
got dressed
knitted, including pulling out several inches of Marc's scarf for a better idea
puttered on the computer
cooked a stirfry and ate some
puttered on the computer

And here it is late afternoon. I still have much to do tonight: more knitting, watching a movie (some Mystery Science Theatre 3000 episode I got from Netflix), perhaps a phone call or two. Keeping my feet warm is in itself a full time job right now. (I'm trying to keep the heat at 65, which sometimes feels chilly in here. After the cooking I did for T'giving, in my new, very INefficient oven, my gas bill went up $45.) After midnight, no food or water until after the procedure tomorrow. That's a long time without water; I'm scheduled for 1:30. I'll bring some with me.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!