Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


August 05, 2008

4:16 p.m.

Storms Easing In

I went to Beaver Dam Marsh. The last time I was there was at dawn on the morning of our dual 50th birthday bash, in early June. The lake is now teeming with water lilies. Beautiful white sprays of petals with yellow centers. I spotted a heron and a hawk, but no beavers this time.

A short walk in the woods (and so different, here, from the New Hampshire woods) brought me to the stream with the flat-rocked walls flanking the wooden footbridge. I went there to keep a promise. I found my niche amongst some rocks, a little hidden shelf, and set up the little fairy altar. Two heart shaped rocks which I'd painted, a quartz crystal, a little silver ring, a shell, a pointy silver heart with x's and o's on it. They're not apparent to anyone casually walking along the path. They're protected from rain. I hope the forest spirits like it; humble, but sincere.

So I walked a while, but it was pretty buggy. Stopped by Kohl's on the way home and found a possible alternate pair of gig shoes that would take less room than my boots, but didn't buy them. $40 that I don't really have right now. Tried on various pairs of pants but found nothing. I'm thinking about the shoes. They'd solve a certain problem.

Once home I had a great talk with James and filled him in on the amazing retreat story. He's doing okay, although looking for a job again and dealing with resistance from two of his kids to having the girlfriend move in. I asked if he was still considering selling his big house for a smaller one, so that maybe her moving in then would look different. Not so much like her intruding on the family home. He said that scenario does look like a possibility. Recently the daughter seems to be treating girlfriend with more respect; perhaps the ex-wife had a little chat with her.

Now I've just been researching B&Bs in my state, with the idea of making a lovely brochure about the bookmaking to send to some of them. If I can leave a journal in an artists' studio, why not make some for those beautiful and expensive rooms in quaint historic B&Bs, for guests to leave a little something in?

But tired now from all the concentrating and sleepy from my early dinner. The breeze is cool today, just right for falling asleep in front of a movie.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!