Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


August 05, 2008

11:05 a.m.

Wine and Company

Wes and I had a lovely dinner last night and caught up on the last two months. I showed him what I'd worked on at MacDowell and he bought a chapbook with a crow feather that tucks into a hollow bead on the front, which he can make into a quill pen if he's clever.

Then we had our foreman-grilled chicken and vegetable stirfry and salad, which was jolly excepting for the moment when he cut his finger whilst dicing an avocado. Some hydrogen peroxide and antibiotic ointment and one large bandaid later, we resumed the prep and there were no more surprises.

I'd intended to roast the vegetables but discovered that my oven won't come on, even though the pilot is on. Just yesterday morning I was talking with Sunny (landlady) and she was saying she wanted to replace my stove -- having noted the rusted-out hole in the top. Well, now she gets to replace it really soon. We're scouting for a used one. I'm hopeful that she can find one a little bigger; mine's a 20-inch, and now that the big heater unit is gone I have room for one in which I can actually put a large casserole dish, or place two pots side by side on top and not have them vying for the same space.

I'm working on several books but the air is so sweet today, I must get out for a hike. I've waited too long. Cancel everything! This lady's going walkabout.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!