Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


December 09, 2007

11:46 p.m.

Ice

Kripalu Yoga Center
Lenox, MA

The band took me out to see Susan Werner tonight, an early birthday present. She was quite good indeed, and we were glad to have been part of the small crowd that showed up in spite of the ice storm. We got back all right and I'm about to hit the sack. ("Hit the sack." I haven't said that in years. My father used to say it all the time.) We'll have to leave tomorrow morning but it might behoove us to push it as late as possible; there could still be sleet coming down.

We had a good concert last night, here in the main sanctuary where we have played so many times. This is the first time in 7 years we won't be playing on Christmas Eve. We're told, too, that we won't ever see the sanctuary in its present state again -- it's two storeys high, with vaulted windows and soothing carpet all the way up the stage. I guess they're splitting it up somehow, maybe making some of it into office space. Not sure. Just part of the ongoing Omega reconstruction. We usually leave the night of the gig, but stayed our extra night this time in case it's something like our last. From a typical 5 dates a year, we've been reduced to only 2 in 2007, and have nothing on the books yet for next year.

Times've changed.

(I have never read a sentence with "times've" in it before.)

C&C also gave me a birthday card where two vintage women are sitting at a cafe table talking, and a talk bubble above the first one says, "Where is your birthday party going to be at?" and the second one's bubble says, "Don't end a sentence with a preposition."

I thought this was funny enough by itself, as it was clearly me the cartoon was depicting.

Then on the inside is the same picture, but there is only one talk bubble, above woman #1. She is saying, "Where is your birthday party going to be at, Bitch?"

Aw, you've probably seen it already.

I worked on some movie footage today and took a long hike. Beyond that I ate copious amounts of organic, mosty vegetarian food, showered, and bought a little percussion instrument at the (highly overpriced and chichi) gift shop downstairs. I don't know if I can describe it. It looks like this:

The shingles or tiles are attached just at the top. If you take the elephant's front half in one hand and the back half in the other hand, then move your hands alternately up and down, the tiles click against each other at the bottom like... like wooden soldiers marching, or an audience full of Pinocchios applauding. I thought we could work it into the kids' show.

And that is all I can write tonight. Tired. Tired.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!