Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


December 10, 2007

10:44 p.m.

Superpowers

Tomorrow I'll be a Reiki Master.

I'm a little nervous. "What if it doesn't work?" I want to say. "What if it turns out I can't attune people after all? What if, when it comes to the big guns, it just doesn't take? What if I'm just ordinary, in the final analysis?"

Then I think of my teacher and how much I respect and admire her, and her skills and gifts. She has awed me more than once. If anyone can make me a Master, she can.

I'll bring my fears along with my preparation and willingness.

Got home from Kripalu without a hitch today; a little misty rain, that was all. I finally talked with Wes, who is home for the rest of the month like me. We'll get together next week or so. He offered to take me out for my birthday, and I said I might or else will take a rain check. Aubrey's playing in Northampton that night and I could go see him (and probably get laid in the bargain). I don't know, though. It's costly to go to that venue, plus dinner, and I'd have to go alone to keep it all secret. If he calls me ahead of time and can guest me in I'll go. Otherwise I might skip it.

My beautiful hike yesterday left me with severely strained muscles on the right side of my waist/butt. I could hardly get into the car to drive home today. Feeling better after a lot of ibuprofen, but wtf... it isn't enough not to be able to run? But hiking too?

I'd love to get to the bottom of it. What's going on, I mean, within, that is translating to all this difficulty with motion. Besides getting older. Because THAT is not all there is to it.

Wes encouraged me to get an adjustment. I think I will, soon, when I'm in that area.

In other news, I'm completely caught up on the present episodes of Heroes now. I feel like I've been able to put one over on the cable company by watching on-demand with Netflix.

In other, even better news, we found out that we can load Windows on our Macs in a separate partition on the hard drive, and have the choice of booting up with either platform. This solves all our software compatibility problems.

I might have a housecleaning gig this weekend if I want it. Rose isn't able to do anything with her arm yet, and Marc is way too busy fixing everyone's cars. I have no gig, so it behooves me to go push a vacuum.

In fact we have no gig until New Year's Eve, and it feels good to be "on vacation." I'm reminded of school days when it felt like such a relief to have the time off between the two holidays. Finally, a respite from the dread and misery of the classroom. I could manage to forget absolutely everything about school in just the first couple of vacation days. I mean, everything I ever learned. Nevermind that later there would be the painful reintegration, the forgotten homework, the unresolved and unrequited crushes of pre-adolescence. For now, there were gifts and sleeping in and playing outside in the snow and REAL LIFE going on every minute. The way life is NOW. I feel for kids every time I see a school bus!

Of course, there is rehearsal and recording to accomplish, so I'm not really off the hook. But that's okay. First I'll get my Reiki Superpowers, and then I'll soar through the rest.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!