Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


August 01, 2006

4:48 p.m.

Found Days

Our two midweek gigs this week have been cancelled. That bodes awry financially (as much as something can "bode awry;" I think I've just made that up) but I don't rue the extended days. Even if it is really hard to keep the apartment at a bearable temperature. I can continue my torpid malaise in peace, read my book, and listen to our final final mixes of the album. I have to report on them tonight.

I did two out of four errands before giving up and coming back home. So often I get really hungry about fifteen minutes after leaving home. I couldn't have had a snack before I left? But it's brutal outside. Now I'm reading 100 degrees tomorrow, and in the 90s through Thursday. I can't think about next month's electric bill. I was going to shut the bedroom door to keep the a/c in here, and open the kitchen windows and do the fan routine out there -- until I realized it's even hotter outside than in here.

James and I talked a long time last night, until past both our bedtimes. But we "covered a lot of ground," as he said, and I felt better about everything today. So often he articulates something that is just the way I feel, puts it on the table so it isn't scary any more, or distressing. That's a nice quality in a person, as is having a sense of humor.

So today I'm rejoicing in not having to go out of town tomorrow; making yogurt; singing, reading, moving fans around, making phone calls. Missing James. I have this fantasy that he'll call me up and say, as long as you're not going out of town, why don't I come and see you? But he just got home from a week's vacation and has a lot of work to catch up on, and I'm certainly not driving down to NJ to see him, so I guess it's just a little dream. Nice to allow myself to have it, though.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!