Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


October 08, 2009

10:17 a.m.

Cars, Ladders, Time Passing

Woke up at midnight thinking it was nearly five; woke up at five-ten thinking it must be only threeish.

Still, I slept pretty well and no night sweats for several days. Hallelujia.

After shutters and downspouts and Home Depot, I ate dinner with the family and we laughed our butts off at some LOLCats I�d sent Rose yesterday. It was the best batch ever. It was good to laff.

Tell me why the pizza place down the road from work has put an apostrophe in �Panini�s� on their sign, when all the other plural words have no apostrophes. Grinders, wraps, salads, you can get all those without apostrophe. Want a panino? You have to get it plural, possessive. Because, yes, the singular of panini is panino. Even I, the Great Grammarian, pickiest wordstress in Connecticut, did not know that. The guy who runs the pizza joint doesn�t know that. And he does not know that an apostrophe denotes possession, or the omission of one or more letters. I may have to start going around at night with a secret jug of white-out, a brush and a Sharpie again.

Sigh. I wonder if I�ll be able to let go of this impotent insistence one day. No one is going to listen, and the English-speaking world will not become more literate because of me. And anyway, look at Shakespeare and Keats. Two of the world�s greatest writers, and their spelling was contrary at times. There�s no real consensus. Perception of English is always moving because there are too many of us to beat into submission all at once. This saddens me.

Perhaps it would be freeing to come to some philosophy where I can accept that a) people won�t do what I want them to, by and large, and b) language is not, and never will be, set in one place.

On another subject, it was Dar�s birthday yesterday, and someone rear-ended his car on Memorial Drive. What an ass birthday present! It�s quite squashed in back, though he can still drive it around. He�ll get an estimate for repairs in a couple of days. If it�s totaled he�ll have to get another car, a major time inconvenience. He�s in rehearsal now for �A Ta1e of 2 Cities� (cleverly disguised with numerals so those searching for information about the book won�t stumble upon my top secret diary). Anyway he picked up the package I sent him with the new song in it, and still by evening hadn�t had time to listen to it. But he read what I wrote on the CD, and was very excited that I�d written him a song. He asked if he was going to cry, and I said yes, he�d have to leave the room. Hee HEE. I hope he likes it.

Incidentally, he said he thinks he�s okay from the accident, no injuries �except I think my back might be just a little affected.� I instructed him to take Ibuprofen as a preventive because post-accident pain can creep up later.

It was so good to see Rose for a bit last night. Our paths have not crossed much this week or last. And next weekend is their 2 year anniversary � two years! Time is whizzing by at an alarming rate. And the moon keeps sending silver light into the windows, and the air is getting colder, and the leaves all bright, and WHERE DOES THE TIME GO??

(Later note: Dar�s back is okay today. Good. But he wasn�t able to play the CD I sent on his boom box. We�re working on that problem.)

It was so windy yesterday that the ladder against the house blew over and dented my car door a little bit. I�ll try to get some touch-up paint for the scratch. It�s not worth forking over for a new door or anything. And it was my ladder, fortunately, so I don�t have to think about anyone else being liable.

At work now, must go�


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!