Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


October 12, 2009

8:11 a.m.

Cold, Cold Morning

Rose called me last night about 9:30 to ask whether I�d seen Linus. He�d popped by in the afternoon but they thought they�d seen him around supper time. He was either hiding in the house somewhere or had slipped out again. RATS. They�ve been very careful about not letting him out after he eats in the evening. It�s way too cold for a cat to even WANT to be outside at night, for heaven�s sake.

I looked around my house and called down into the basement. He usually comes when called. Looking around outside, I realized I�d left the bulkhead wide open too, from putting shutters downstairs earlier. I was glad at least that I was led to see that. But no Linus anywhere.

I have a feeling Twinkie Head will be back this morning.

********

The heat came on in the night, though the thermostat goes down to 58. I heard the pipes banging and realized I�d removed one of my earplugs in my sleep. I only wore them because I had a feeling it was going to be cold enough for the furnace to engage, and that would mean clanging pipes. It turned out to be five minutes to five anyway, so I just turned off the alarm, hung out until it clicked, and got up.

I could see my breath in the mudroom where the fridge and microwave are. I have to put something around the crooked door to keep the cold air outside. The gaps are too wide for regular weather stripping. I�ll get a new door, but meanwhile I�m waiting for the other insurance shoe to drop before I know when I�ll have money for the door. Where the hell is that rebate??

I realized when I paid Chimney Guy last week that I hadn�t set aside money for the power washing, which commences today. A strategy was born, and I took out another gig-money loan from the Band Bank. This weekend we played the gig for which I�d been pre-paid before, so I paid that back. Now I�m only five hundred in arrears, and that will get cancelled out in the next two weeks. As pesky as it is to be living �in front of my money,� I am SO GRATEFUL that I have gigs now. They�re even fun, and we�re getting less rusty all the time. We played the new song I wrote for Dar on Saturday and it was a hit. He�s loved it, too, though Chris had to make him a new CD that would play in the car. I�m playing it on the Bose right now, gettin� all sentimental.

********

The rest of the report is: Both gigs were good, we sold a lot at the service, I reconnected with an old friend of Deceased Crazy Ex who is active in the church there. I mowed the lawn and pruned some brush away from the Dogwood. Vacuumed last week�s rain water out of the basement. Eczema is painful but not quite as horrible as last week. Rose bought three box lots of antique linens at the auction and gave me a huge pile of table runners, napkins, curtains, doilies and embroidered whatnots. Cool!!!

And Marc fixed my toilet, which had started leaking onto the floor from the bottom. I feared it was pipes, but it was just the wax seal underneath that had broken. Now I know how a toilet is seated in the floor. It�s all tight now, and no more leak into the basement either. Hooray.

Now, must get ready for work in a very expedient manner.

********

Later Note: Linus was in the house all the time. He transmogrified out of Pearl�s room, where he had been tucked in some invisible cranny for the evening. Hooray.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!