Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


May 01, 2009

1:24 p.m.

(Trumpet Blast)

Alert the media. I have a job!

I start Monday at the little company that "makes stuff." So far, Marc and I think we've pulled off not mentioning that we're related by his marriage to my sister. Two other women who work there are in on the hush as well. There are really only a handful of people who work there, so it's comfy and casual and everyone is very nice. Marc showed me around the place and I re-familiarized myself with diodes and capacitors and suchlike. We'll meet there tomorrow morning when no one is around and he'll teach me to solder. I didn't get to solder in my old circuit-board job, and it's rather assumed that I can. Well, by Monday, I'll be able to.

I'll work three or four days a week depending on what they need. Sounds like it'll be pretty busy for now. They only really have one person doing assembly/soldering work, and she's been so overloaded she gets a little stressed out and tries to work too fast. Better to go a little slower and make no mistakes, they said.

I had a nice nostalgia, looking at all the little pieces and seeing PCBs again with their inviting little silver holes. Just waiting to be filled up so they can do stuff. In my other job I was an assembler and nothing more. Here I have the option to care a little more about what the company does, if I want to, and share ideas and wear various hats. It looks like they'll be able to meet my requested wage, and also that I can be exempt from tax withholding. That's the one lucky thing about not expecting to make much money; you make just about all of your money.

The other lovely thing that this means is that, once I have my first pay stub, I have proof that I make a little more money than I used to. That information can factor into Dar's and my loan application. Maybe it'll help. I'll end up holding onto the application for a couple of weeks, but that'll give me time to send it to Dar so he can fill out his part.

I just hope that, between being in midlife, taking Lexapro, and not being used to getting up early on a regular basis, that I don't yawn through the whole day. I want to be AWAKE for this job. I am so grateful for it, especially in this strange, unpredictable economy where people are losing their jobs all the time. It solves worlds of problems for me, such as now being able to keep my music equipment insurance that expires shortly. Oh, and knowing I can pay the rent. Yeah.

Must organize for the weekend now. Yawning. I hope that stops soon.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!