Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


April 30, 2009

10:35 a.m.

Can I Hear Somebody Say Amen?

Fruit: Good.

I've been jazzing on fruit the last couple of weeks. The grapefruits are mostly excellent right now, and I continue to find just-right pears.

The second round of the cucumber soup was pretty good -- I made it with milk yogurt instead of soy -- so it wasn't as sweet, which I thought would be the key to greater zinginess. But I did miss something about the thickness of the other one. My family is very nice to let me bring all these food experiments over and foist them upon everyone. Some are bigger hits than others. I sometimes wonder if there is an element of Tolerance that they exercise on these nights, never knowing what to expect from Bornearly's kitchen. I will say the bean salad was tasty, and I got another loaf of the excellent bread Eagle and I found at Shaw's. Rose made deviled eggs as well. It was another good and fun dinner on the Farm.

Afterwards Marc went over my bank's loan application with me. When I looked at it at home, it said something like, "How many times does a Freezle go into a Gleep, and when does the Mungo frazzle four percent liver and kishkas? List all incidents of Epizootis." I couldn't make any sense of it and I froze up. This happens with anything concerning money. When I took it to Marc's and we opened it up, it said, "What's your bank account number and how much money do you have? What do you owe to people and how much do you pay them?" It seemed so much more straightforward. I did have a lot of questions and he was patient and very clear about explaining how things work. I love my brother-in-law so much. I can no longer imagine life without him. He said that Rose had said I was apprehensive about the process, and wanted to make sure at the end that I felt better about it and understood what I had to do next. I was touched to hear this from Marc. Remember he's an Extreme Geek with a touch of Asperger's, so talking about feelings (his or others') doesn't come naturally to him.

Meanwhile the chicken coop is coming along. It has rafters and a window now. They made a salt box roof just like a wee little house. It'll be red with white trim.

I walked up their back path in the woods, along the stone wall that divides their property from Mine, and sat on the little place where the stones have tumbled down. That's where we walk over to My back yard. I didn't go over, though; it's too close to the time when Son will be back. There was no dumpster in the driveway yet. But I sat on a stone and prayed to the spirits of the land for help, and for permission to dwell there. All that back woods of theirs used to be cleared. The boys played there. Now I can see where it's grown in -- there are a few larger trees that were shade trees in decades past. I saw them in a photograph. Other, thinner trees rise up in between. Grass still grows long in patches through the fallen leaves. Crows caw, hawks circle. Finches dart. I had a nice long chat with the spirits present and then walked back to where Marc and Pearl were chicken cooping.

********

News flash -- I just got a phone call. I have an interview tomorrow at Marc's work for circuit board and mechanical assembly work. Excellent! They're not supposed to know I'm his sister-in-law. The guy I'm interviewing with has actually met me once in Marc's presence, so if he recognizes me I'll have to just be busted. Marc and I decided I'd just say that was my evil twin. I'm a great worker though, so soon I'll be indispensable and they won't care to whom I am related. (quiet, sneaky smile)

Money! I'll be making regular money soon! Hallelujia!


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!