Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


July 16, 2008

7:45 p.m.

Between the Woods and the Mountain


This book has two sets of pages: one in the house and one in the roof.

I hiked for nearly two hours across the road from Monadnock State Park today, gathering handfuls of free blueberries and eating them all, as I had no container. It did my soul good. Next time I'll go earlier when it's not so hot. I got a modicum of bookmaking done -- modicum with a small "m" -- and showered and washed my hair out of a bucket in back of my studio, as there was a water main break up the street and the dorm where I usually shower was without water for a while. It was sufficient, innovative and pleasant, even getting piney things stuck to the bottoms of my feet after I'd washed them.

I also ate less today which was very kind to my stomach. My mantra was "My Day, My Way," so I paid no attention to when the lunch basket might arrive or whether I should turn out a number of hardcovers today. Tomorrow is forecast to be hot and humid, so maybe no hiking but more hunkering down. someone is presenting in ten minutes at the library; after that I'll coop the chickens and go back and make a text block for a tallish, stab-bound book. My poet buddy Bill is leaving tomorrow so I may make him a chapbook as well.

I dreamed last night that my dad gave me $700; seven sets of five twenties each, and each set folded in half like a section of pages in a book. I was very grateful, even after waking.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!