Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


November 04, 2007

9:23 p.m.

Good Company

Aubrey left me a message from the road, which I picked up yesterday. We're playing in different states next weekend but he wonders if I want to drive to where he's staying, after my gig. Just over two hours. Then another hour home. I don't think so, really. But I'm thinking maybe in December. It'd be nice to see him again. It was odd to be talking to him, and feeling so crapped out with this cold that I just don't want to see ANYONE right now (much less go to bed with them). How strong and insular my life is sometimes.

I gave a Reiki session tonight, and then had three guests over for dinner. It caused me to move some more furniture and put about eighteen boxes of PVC coils (for bookbinding) in the basement, which I needed to do anyway. The basement is scary now. They had to put the three new furnaces exactly where all my stuff was stored, in the backmost room. So they gently moved everything aside in exactly the way that I can't get to anything I might need. I'll have to take a day soon and reorganize the lot, once they're done.

But dinner was fun -- in spite of Rose and I having monstrous colds. We made wholegrain penne with half-homemade sauce, buffalo meatballs, salad, and potato scallion bread dipped in basil olive oil and dipping herbs. And wine, of course; Cabernet. Marc, Brother-in-Law Extraordinaire, installed an outlet in my office (a.k.a. walk-in closet)! Now I don't have to run a big extension cord into the bedroom.

I also did some Reiki on Rose's shoulder, which has been giving her considerable trouble. She's getting an MRI tomorrow, after several kinds of painkillers and anti-inflammatories have not worked very well.

Last night I watched episodes of "Heroes" until late. I had a tremendous sinus headache by the time I went to bed and thought I wouldn't sleep at all between that and the sneezing, but I eventually did. The headache was gone when I awoke. Meanwhile I dreamed that every cold symptom I had was a different superhero, and had a special power...

I guess I'll have to get up early again tomorrow, as the Boys are coming back. As in, the Boys Installing the Heat.

Big fun, though, tomorrow: oil change, maybe go buy a new laptop and an outlet cover. Miscellaneous data entry, blah blah. Recover. Quiet now, in the neighborhood. A mantel clock is ticking in my room, that belonged to my great grandmother. I haven't wound it up in a long time, and I silenced the chime long ago because it's LOUD. But it's comforting to me to hear it ticking. It was made here in Connecticut in the 19th Century, but purchased in Kansas City, for $7.50, and brought to Oklahoma in a covered wagon. From there it went to son Samuel Milroy, then to son Howard, and Rose and I managed to "rescue" it from dad a couple of years before he died -- leaving us nothing, for complex reasons, but I do have the clock and I'm grateful for it.

Enough for now...


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!