Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


November 10, 2007

12:40 p.m.

At the Kitchen Window

This comes to you from my kitchen table, where I work at my brand new, lily white MacBook. As a long term PC user, this is a brand new experience for me.

I love it.

Did you hear me? I love it. I love my MacBook. I want to sleep with it. No, I don�t want to have SEX with it, you little pigs. I just want it near me, for all the things it can do for me. Its name right now is Oculus, a round or eyelike opening or design, in particular a circular window, or the central boss of a volute, or an opening at the apex of a dome. Word origin is mid 19th century, from Latin, literally �eye.�

I know I don�t need to tell you that a volute, as an architectural term, is a spiral scroll characteristic of Ionic and Corinthian capitals. An equally apt, secondary description is that of a deep-water mollusk with a thick spiral shell that is colorful and prized by collectors. This has a mid 16th Century derivation, French, or also from the Latin voluta, feminine past participle of volvere �to roll.�

So all my slow rolling in the sea has come to this clean white rectangle with its magic oculus, my Ionic eye out to the turning world, and to the secret spiralling colors within.

********

In exploring, these past few days, what this living machine can do, I have begun a keynote presentation about my life. It�s a way to figure out how to use some of the iWork software, the Photo Booth (Oculus has eyes within eyes -- a little camera at the top of the screen that can take pictures as required, of whatever I put in front of it, to be added to the work at hand), graphics. It�s also a fun way to look at issues that are otherwise challenging and scary. Ah, my little world. No one knows how much FUN I have when I�m alone! I�m so lucky to have myself for company.

In addition to this new relationship I have been:

putting my apartment back together after the heating extravaganza (they�ll finish this week)

getting over this big-ass cold

rehearsing new songs, hooray

having dinner with Sig and talking about Will

not running

making an extraordinary chicken soup, and

watching half the first season of Heroes, over which I am completely obsessed.

We have a gig tonight, and another next weekend in our state. There are very few reservations for that one at this point, shocking considering that a year ago we sold the place out. We know a lot of people who are coming, so I�m sure it isn�t as dire as it seems, but it�s still a bit scary.

To the end of getting out the door on time, this will be a short post. It�s nice working among my plants and the fresh flowers on the table. Mm.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!