Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


June 16, 2007

11:31 p.m.

Quiet Saturday

Rose provided transportation for me today while the Tardis was in the shop for some routine maintenance. We were going to hike, but she's been having some foot pain, so we shopped instead. She had her eye on a lamp at Pier 1; we went to check it out and bought identical dishes. I got only one setting, with an alternate middle plate; she got 4 of the same sets. Then we went to Christmas Tree Shops where I finally obtained a large serving spoon. I've lived all my life up to now without a large serving spoon. What have I done at all these parties I throw? Well, I've ladled out goulash with my hands, of course. But no longer. From now on I am only serving dishes that can be delivered with my new spoon.

Following all that merriment, we stopped at a local strawberry stand and got our first local berries of the year. They are magnificent.

The Tardis is well and happy, with lots of new little parts and fresh fluids. What a relief to have gotten that overwith.

So I came home and made miso soup and salad with leftover swordfish on it, and then watched a movie and a half, and now I have to go to bed because an old friend is coming over for lunch tomorrow. Funny; I'm now not sure why I invited her. It seemed like a good idea then, but now I wish I had the day free. I don't know what I'll feed her. Hijiki salad is on the menu -- a recipe I haven't tried, so I hope it's good -- and, of course, it's spoonable. But one can't live on seaweed alone. Maybe I'll make peanut butter and jelly sandwiches. I can't even be bothered to clean.

OH -- the other errand I did was check Kohl's for some different running shoes, that will also serve as daily walking shoes, to take to England. Found some right off -- what luck. I'm crossing my fingers and praying that my passport shows up in time to get the work visas. Any day now, I'm expecting it.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!