Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


April 25, 2006

11:48 p.m.

Tuna Feast

And, indeed, I caught up on my practicing yesterday, finished the placemats, cleaned and oiled my sewing machine, did some other work. Today we had a brush-up rehearsal and went over the school program coming up on Friday. I stopped at Wild Oats on the way back and was caught in rush hour coming through Hartford, where every light was red but one and everything in between was jammed. I fear Wild Oats will close, because the parasite Wholefoods has opened a superstore in the same area, the way they do, running everyone else out of town like WalMart. It angers me. There's room for everyone; why can't they play nice? And why isn't there anything like any of them east of the river? This glut of health food stores in West Hartford and here, nothing but a local co-op that's so expensive I shudder to shop there.

When I got home the sky was that unpaintable radiant gray, where you know the sun is somewhere illuminating the rainclouds but you can't see it, and the baby Spring green of the trees offsets it like neon. The views out my windows get better and better.

We have an overload of gigs this weekend, again. Carol has been to see the speech pathologist, who has made some very astute observations and some suggestions about better vocal self-use. Meanwhile Chris's spasmodic cough is worse than ever, and while he seems to have contracted and then gotten over a bronchitis, the cough that preceded it persists. He's being treated for reflux and allergies but so far no improvement. Today he confessed that singing was no longer any fun; he's spending more energy trying not to cough than anything else. I just don't know what this band is coming to.

This is what happens when I stop reading Jasper Fforde. The whole unrelenting solemnity of life comes barging back in. Give me farce! Give me slapstick! Give me witty wordplay and literate lunacy! Anything but all this.

I am a spoiled cat, padding about under the mistaken belief that the universe revolves around me and my food dish. Canned, please, not dry.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!