Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


November 10, 2005

11:42 p.m.

Play Day

The play day with Dar turned out to be mostly dinner, as he was held up much of the day with work, and a fruitless detour to the theatre where he's doing a new version of A Christmas Carol (ahem... what was wrong with the original?), to pick up some music the music director had told him was available. Only when he got there, they turned out not to have it after all, as the authors were rewriting it again. They start rehearsal this week.

I've seen numerous versions of the Dickens classic, all done with some kind of modern twist, and have even been in a few. One cannot improve on Dickens, I conclude. I wish I could see a version that was still really Dickensian. It's like setting Shakespeare in the 1950s. No! No, no.

Although my friend Joan, who has been in Hartford's adaptation for several years, is going to fly this time. As a spectre. Fly. On a wire. This I must see.

********

So Dar and I had a nice dinner at Rose and Mike's; Dar and Mike were extremely silly and monkeyish while Rose and I conversed across the table, oblivious to their antics. We laughed a great deal, played a lot with the cats, drank wine. I did a couple of loads of laundry. Then Dar came back here and had some coffee before heading back.

I can tell he likes this foreign activity, this "playing." He's looking for someone to hire to do some of the indoor cleaning so he can take a day or two off per week. It's insane. We actually got together two weeks running -- I don't know when that last happened -- and he so didn't want to leave tonight. The apartment was quiet, we played with the rocking abs thingy someone gave me which I barely have figured out -- inventing impossible ways to use it, upside down, backwards, saying, "But I don't feel it in my abs," -- and talking about dealing with the Snit Factor in stressful situations. This is a good place. No one ever wants to leave here. I understand.

Because he was later getting here than we'd planned, I did get some practice in (very good), some knitting (commendable), a workout (excellent), and some reading (edifying). I'm almost through with the nomad book -- oh, how can she find a way to end it? Her travels are still going on! Tomorrow I'm home again, and Steve has his eye surgery in the morning.

I have some band biz to do tomorrow, and more practicing. I'm hoping the barometric pressure, or whatever it is that gave me the intense headache this afternoon, will have settled down. Oh -- news flash. The Squatleys next door finally finished the wooden fence bewteen our houses. There has been chicken wire for the most part, except in the back where the parking is (adjacent to their pool) where they put up wood some time ago. Anyway, I suddenly noticed that I couldn't see all the junk any more. Of course I can still overlook their backyard from my bedroom window, which reminds me that I still have to chronicle the fascinating array of stuff that's back there -- before it gets covered up with snow. I'll make a list soon and post it here, as I'm certain you're eager to know just how much diversity there is in my neighborhood. Both animate and inanimate.

The Go to Bed Angel is nudging me. I'm resisting, feebly. Oh -- blueeyedmoo, great minds think alike. It occurred to me that there must be a nonsmelly solution to the hair product dilemma. My neighborhood is amazingly devoid of anything resembling a health food store, but there's one near Rose's that I could check for fragrance-free gel. I did exchange the Mango Frenzy for something slightly less startling meanwhile, so we'll see how that goes.

And, yes, the angel is winning. Goodnight.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!