Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


2005-09-23

11:12

I'm trying the new email option. I awoke with four hours before I have to leave for the band's house; now it's down to two and a half. I'll pack soon, and shower. There will be reading. Today I get to try out my new Fishman Aura Acoustic Imaging Blender, a fancy name for a device that will replace several boxes that I hook up in line between my guitars and the sound system. And there will be rehearsal, and an attempt to go to bed early because I'll have to arise at about 4:00am tomorrow.

Dar and I had a lovely day yesterday. He brought a book from a show he saw in Boston recently called Cavalia. It's as amazing as Cirque du Soleil, only with horses. I played him a couple of songs he hadn't heard, we went over his account list and I gave him a folder I'd made up. He loved the apartment, which he'd seen only half painted. I fed him tortellini soup and apples and fake chicken patties with eggplant and pepper sauce.

Then we did a few errands, including me replacing a little pair of earrings one of which I'd lost; they were only $5 and the store still had them. We walked on Horse Barn Hill and into the woods, where we found Concord grapes by their aroma, and savored some, spitting out the tart skins and seeds. I found another heart-shaped rock in a dry stream bed.

Living in the city as he does, Dar is always awed by the woods, by the little cottages here, the grand old Victorian houses; it's a treat for him to see anything that looks like country. It reminds me how glad I am to be living here.

Then we went to my favorite Indian cafe and took out Korma and Saag Paneer and Raita and Nan, and brought it home to eat. I pulled out some candied ginger and some very good dark chocolate for dessert. In the evening we watched a movie he'd brought me, Searching for Bobby Fischer. Most enjoyable, and Ben Kingsley has the be the most beautiful man on earth.

Then it was time for him to go. We put washer fluid in his car in the dark little parking lot, and said goodbye.

I slept pretty well except for the Squatleys letting their yippy dog out at 3:30am. Why do they do this? And let him bark incessantly? They have absolutely no sense of time, or tact. I put in earplugs and went back to sleep, to many, many dreams.

(I remind myself that I'll outlive the dog.)

I also remind myself that, hard as it can be to go back and read old journals, it's instructive and this is one reason I kept them in the first place. I forget so much of what has happened to me, what I felt, what conclusions I drew. This is the younger me I meet on the woods path, who tells me how it was. Maybe she can teach me something.

And how it is, is that I have to get ready to go. All good breakfasts come to an end, and one can't wear jammies all day.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!