Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


April 27, 2004

9:43 p.m.

Manly Girl

Yes, I'm feeling very butch after having bent the new mailing software to my will AND pumped up my bike tires, all in the same afternoon. I rewarded my success at sending out the newsletter by taking the season's inaugural bicycle ride on the rail trail. Blue hybrid bike, red helmet, red fingerless gloves. Late last summer, which was when I got my bike, I figured out a way to get to the trail from my apartment without having to load the bike onto the car. It was tricky, and involved secret pathways and butchgirl intuition. But I only have to cross Rt. 83 once, at a light, and the rest is easy.

I forgot to wear my watch so I have no idea how long I rode; but my object was to ride as far as I could and still think I could get back. There was also the dog to feed, and I'd been gone from Rose's a few hours already. So it was a good long ride and when I came back I carried Fly back down to the basement where my storage cell is. After stowing her I came back up and realized I could hardly walk up the stairs, my legs were so tired. I plan to be somewhat crippled for my half-playday with Darwin tomorrow, so there will be lots of jokes about him having to carry me everywhere, or push me around in a wheelchair. But every moment of ache will have been worth it: perfect day, perfect ride.

I have to get in shape so Will and I can ride our bikes together, see.

I spoke to Rose later, who continues to have an excellent time in San Diego. She and Mike rented those... now I've forgotten what they're called, and it's such a cool name, too -- those gyroscope things you stand on, and when you lean forward they go. She said it was easy and you don't fall off, and possibly the coolest thing she's ever done (and this woman has swum with sea turtles). We're going to see if any place around here rents them out.

Meanwhile, dog Lucy is starting to get restless, I can tell. Rose walks her 4 miles a day and/or sends her to Doggie Day Care several times a week where she plays all day with her buddies. She needs a lot of exercise and running around in the back yard a few times per day doesn't quite keep up. Fortunately her parents come back tomorrow night. Til then all she wants to do is stand on me if I'm sitting down, or chew something forbidden if I'm not looking. I do find her very funny, though; she's a great clown and very loving. Even though she rarely comes when called.

I'm giving myself tomorrow off; must get oil changed is all, and Dar will show up by 2:30. He hasn't seen Linus the cat yet.

I wonder if the issue of staying over will pop up again. If it does I should resolve to really talk about it. I guess one concern is that, given the fact that he hasn't stayed over where I live since I was in New Hampshire, and that was over three years ago, if he stays over now it'll set a precedent where he'll expect it to be an option on these visits. It's like we're starting over with the idea. We don't have a sexual relationship, and I don't want to start one up again. The other facet of this gem is a personal space issue. I'm just not used to having people overnight, and it's not like I have a guest room or can offer any privacy. (Of course, if Will were driving through the area late and was just too tired to make it home, I'd send up a flare from the parking lot...)

The truth will out eventually. Especially if I can be a man about it.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!