Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


April 28, 2004

1:59 p.m.

More Scathingly Funny Queer Friends

Okay, so the first night I stayed here, Lucy woke me up at 7:30. The second morning it was 7:00. This morning, 6:00 sharp, somebody pressed her Excited button and she was ready to get up. I shoved her away a few times, and she finally got off the bed and started chewing her old marrow bone. CRUNCH SCRAPE CRUNCH CHEW SCRAPE. My eyes popped open and I looked at the camera in an Oliver Hardy sort of way. Well, I didn't feel too wiped out, so I got up and did the morning animal things. I'd fed critters, made pancakes, vacuumed the downstairs, run the dishes and put in laundry before 8:30. It was disgusting. Then I took Lucy for a bit of a walk, came back and turned the laundry, and decided it was time for a 9:30 nap.

Ooooh, nappies.

I don't mean the diapers of course. Those are diapers in some places, right? No, I mean the kind where Lucy curls up on the large ottoman and I sack out on the other couch, and finally Linus hops up and installs himself into the curve of my stomach, and we all zone out for up to two hours.

Then the guys came to deliver roof shingles, and I had lunch and did more laundry, the sky clouded up and cleared again, Dar called to say he was on his way, and I spoke to Rose on the phone who said that her other dog Braela (not the little black one, nor the hound, but the other one, staying with a friend while they're away) has been sick all week and could I pleeeeeze possibly take her to the vet tomorrow, as Rose will be flat out getting back to work and preparing to be a keynote speaker at the Nightingale Nursing Awards ceremony? Of course I will. I made the appointment for the morning.

She's had such trouble with sick animals in the last year -- one down from bone cancer, one with a progressing tumor, a cat with intermittent asthma or something, and now this mysterious whatever that's been in both the little dogs, but oddly, worse in the one who is healthier overall.

Good thing I'm not an adult, eh?

********

So I'm trying some alternate hair product now. I've been using this great gel and spiking my hair for a few years now, but the gel dries hard and (sorry if I've already written about this) a friend kissed me on the cheek recently and my hair practically took his eye out. And my Indian neighbor complains that it's "pokey!" (even though he's not in the habit of kissing me). So, after finding a copy of "Queer Eye for the Straight Guy" in my brother in law's bathroom, I've taken a tip from them and started using a hair CREAM. Jury's still out on the styling possibilities, but it smells good and it's definitely safer for the general public.

Speaking of the Fab 5, I never liked the show, even though I am surrounded by people who rave about it. I just could never stand watching the straight guys -- they seemed like such hapless bozos. But after delving into their book a little, and then trying another episode this week, I have to say that they're smart, flashy, and scathingly funny and I wish they were all my new friends. I need more scathingly funny queer friends. I don't seem to meet them now that I'm not in theatre any more.

So if you're scathingly funny and queer, and especially if you know something about wine, I want to be your friend. Please write me.

Linus is sitting in the open window ruling over the neighborhood, and Dar's due any minute. Must put myself into Visit mode.

p.s. Am not crippled today.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!