Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


May 25, 2008

10:59 p.m.

Carts and Rafts

Mmmmm, I just had the most delicious, ripe mango for dessert. I love finding a good mango.

Last night's dinner at the Otters' place was illuminating, to say the least. Liza Otter had invited another couple, Dove and Turtle, who, it turns out, are shamans and Reiki people and the like. It taught me that when you invite the Universe to open you up and lay it on you, it does, and you'd better be there to receive it without judgment. We made a little headway on the dream ceremony, although it's not all clear to me yet, and had a lovely dinner. Turtle told me I had a long list of guides, and named some of them.

Late today I went for a very long hike in the state forest, only to find that I'd locked the business end of my keys in the car. I separate them and take only what I need when I hike, otherwise the bunch is too large. Head up ass, actual car key left in car. I was tired and thirsty and didn't know where the nearest house even was. And it would get dark soon. I walked one way down a road, saw nothing but forest. Called out to a few of these guides (by name, thanks, Turtle) and bleated to them for help in a repeated, panicky sort of way. Turned around and walked up another road for a bit, until I heard a weed whacker off through the woods. I tramped through to a back yard, where an older guy was tidying up some grass. I emerged, Bigfootlike, from the forest, waving my arms so I wouldn't startle the crap out of him when I got up close. He turned the whacker off. I apologized for bothering him, but said I needed help.

He looked me right in the eye and said, "You've got it! What do you need?"

I told him what I'd done, and he said immediately he could take me back home, where I'd said I had another car key. Then he said, "We've met before."

I said I didn't think so, but he reminded me that we'd passed on the dirt road I'd come down, the other day, when he was walking his dogs. Sure enough, it was the same guy; I didn't recognize him because he'd had a hood on then, as it was raining a little.

He said, "Come on in! I'll introduce to you to my wife, so she doesn't think I'm running off with some gal!"

I then met his wife, who looked about 20 years younger than he, and they gave me some water, and she offered to take me home to get my key. We had a great little conversation in the car; I unlocked the bulkhead combo lock to get into our basement to get my spare apartment keys, and so let myself into the house. After a little rummaging I found the car key, and grabbed a couple of CDs to give them in thanks. She drove me back; we saw some deer on her road, my car was waiting for me, and it just couldn't have been a happier ending. I tell you, it helps to know your guides by name.

She said to drop by any time, and I might just do that.

********

Tomorrow is arts & crafts day; I get to make a "wishing well" for our birthday bash, and paint the frame of a little chalkboard with something fancy.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!