Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


July 07, 2011

10:26 p.m.

Summary of a Good Life

Both the jasmines are blooming now, and the whole living room is scented with their secret messages.

Late night entry, so just the main topics:

* Life on the farm is fine; weather has been very hot mostly, but the garden is doing all right and the cherry tomatoes are starting to come in.

* Work has been tolerable, even fun sometimes with Snow there, all in spite of my being very distracted by thoughts of Teller.

* Teller continues to appear each Saturday night for our watching of Her0es, and since last entry there have been some very revealing conversations indeed (in addition to some serious making out). Feelings on both sides have gone beyond platonic. Outcome not yet predictable, but promising.

* Snow has been seeing someone through an online dating service, and we all watched her rush in and go all googly in love, knowing she might be in for a fall. It looks like that might be approaching. But she's been really happy and learned some stuff in the meantime. I so love that she is my friend. She came over last weekend and I taught her how to sharpen her chainsaw blade. :) And she keeps giving me wonderful old clothes which no longer fit her.

* Rose and Karl seem to go through these bad patches, where his anxiety, ADD and extreme neediness tip her over the edge, and everything she says to him, even if the words are encouraging, ends up sounding scolding and peeved. Rose and I don't get enough chance to talk during the week, so this stuff builds up without my knowing about it until it's at critical mass. I'm saying prayers.

* Smidge is catching all sorts of things and bringing them into the house (or sometimes finding them in the house, like the basement mice). I'm grateful for fewer rodents in the garden, but if she's just caught something and it's still very much alive, I'll gently get it from her (with gloves, ever since the dead-looking vole bit me) and remove it to the far end of the meadow and let it go. It's in her nature to kill them; it isn't in mine. I can give thanks either way.

* Digestion has been weird. IBS is so much fun. But my hands are getting a little better all the time.

* I've taken up running again and I'm doing pretty well in my small, beginner's way. Also brought out the Tot@l Gym, and aside from the usual reluctance/motivation dance, I do feel better.

Time for bed. Pleasant dreams, everyone.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!