Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


November 24, 2010

10:18 p.m.

I am still here. I have survived another weekend of touring, driving home from Virginia AGAIN racing the sun. One night an old lady fell asleep in the front row. Another, the show wasn't well promoted and almost no one came. The third night, full house, lots of money and Chris's relatives giving us joy. They drove two and a half hours to see us for the first time. It only took them 9-1/2 years.

It is still the mixed bag it always was. I brought my little rolled-up egg crate mattress to put on every bed and finally had decent sleeps every night. If I don't count December, in which we have only two gigs and both local enough to sleep at home, then I only have five months more of touring.

Meanwhile I bought a new bird feeder with squirrel proof perches (they go down if anything heavier than birds get on them, thus blocking access to the seed) and hung it on the pole outside where I can see it. I just love it. K and I disassembled the mammoth armoire at the auctioneer's and brought it home today, reassembling it like a giant Rub1k's Cube in the front hallway. We forgot the little shelves so must go back later to fetch them, and I must have someone cut some brackets for them. K said the closet shelves were ash, and that he has an ash board in the basement I can use. He also found a closet dowel; I can cut that to length and I will then have a closet with some shelves and a full length mirror on the middle door. It's really quite an impressive piece of work, for being such a large, dusty and neglected object all this time. Nicely made, with some inlay here and there and some carving on the doors. And still a key to lock them all. I got the armoire, and the little end table that matches, for $100.

My two days of work this week were chaotic and hard, and easy and joyful. Catching up on paperwork is rather endless and we are still scrambling to put the thousand pieces of the new software in place. But I am so glad to be there, and Snow is back and Belinda is gone to India for three months so there is not the stress of dealing with her. The VP of Sales bought us all pizza for lunch and we knocked off around 2:30 for the holiday weekend. I felt like young Scrooge when he worked for Fezziwig: "No more work today! Christmas, Dick! Christmas, Ebenezer!"

I have been taking some new supplements, based on suggestions and research, which I hope will assist my skin and hair, and lift my mood. I took super blue green algae for years and loved it, until it got so expensive I gave it up. Back then there was just about one main company harvesting it from Klamath Lake, but now there are other brands and my vitamin company carries it. It always made me feel happier and a little more energetic. Cordyceps powder is also in the arsenal now. It's a mushroom that grows on dead caterpillars in the Himalayas. Mine is grown on soybeans in America, so it's much more affordable than the wild kind. So far so good. Just started a couple of other things today but too soon to report on them.

If my hair grows thicker again I know it will take a long time before I notice. I give thanks every time I brush my hair. You just have to give thanks for what there is and not moan for what has fallen away.

Let's see... tomorrow is Thanksgiving! We'll have a big crowd. Rose, Karl, Pearl, her boyfriend, another friend, Snow, me. Big feast, jolly company, probably a good nap. My back door is coming back tomorrow, all painted. It's a saturated, bright color that Dar chose. I really like the color and have used it for trim in a room before, though on something as large as a door I expect it'll look alarming. Oh, that's the other thing -- Dar can't come tomorrow and he has performances all weekend so our Sunday visit is out. What a disappointment.

I've finally written myself into sleepiness. Time to turn down the pellet stove, wash my face and give up the night to John O'Dreams.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!