Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


October 30, 2009

10:40 p.m.

Wheee, Wheeeeeee

I'm thoroughly engrossed in a book Rose lent me; it's making me a bit less productive but it's been so long since I had a good read. Goat Song: A Seasonal Life, A Short History of Herding, and the Art of Making Cheese by Brad Kessler. Riveting. That consumed my leisurely morning, and then I got set up to steam clean the pantry cabinets when Karl pulled up to replace more siding. That led to calling the St@te F@rm agent again, and they promised she would call me before end of day.

So I steamed one shelf level after scraping off 50-year-old wax paper, and then went outside into the beautiful day with a brush and some more primer. Karl is just DONE with priming the house. The thing is he was aiming for the bare wood spots, and if there is red paint showing under the old white paint, it's still paint, and doesn't need to be coated again at this time. So the house is piebald. Anyway there are still areas, some up very high, that have some bare wood. After about 45 minutes Insurance Lady called back, and we had a conversation about cedar -- Roof Guy and Karl concur that you don't have to do anything to cedar -- and she was saying that it has to be treated with something every three years. Finally she said she'd call her underwriter and see if she could work something out. Ten minutes later she called back, and all they need is a signed statement from one of my contractors saying the clapboards are in good enough shape and sound enough to pass for the time being. So I called up Roof Guy right quick, and asked him if he'd sign something if I wrote it up. Dear fellow, he said he would, so I just wrote it out and sent it to him.

After Karl left I took the spare shingles and roof stuff to the basement, likewise the two neat little pallets he left for me. Then I sucked up a bunch of rainwater that had accumulated in the basement while the downspouts were off. Having accomplished that I came next door and was just about to start composing the letter for Roof Guy, when our friends V and S showed up -- for what occasion I didn't know. I was entertaining them while Karl showered -- I thought, gee, I wonder where they're going tonight -- and then Rose came home from work and reminded me that tonight was our Haunted Happenings event in town at the old Historic Museum. OOOPS! It was time to go, I was still in my painting pants, unwashed and unprepared. I dashed home and changed, and we grabbed a quick supper at Subway and went and had a lovely evening being scared in the woods and entertained in a tavern. Then we sat around a bonfire and heard true stories.

By the end of the night I switched my demo-recording day with Chris to Sunday instead of tomorrow. Obviously I have had no time to practice lately. Tomorrow is supposed to be warm and rainy; a good day to finish preparing the pantry and finally get all my canned goods and such in it.

All's well, except my fingers are killin' me.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!