Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


October 04, 2009

7:22 p.m.

Peace Like a River

Rain, rain. I got back from rehearsal after dark last night, and had to put two of the three downspouts that we removed, temporarily back up. I braced them with paint cans. The third was too long for me to manage, but that one has a good drainage pipe at the bottom that goes underground so I wasn�t worried about it. My ruse worked; they�re still up.

And it poured. It poured all morning. I woke to the sound of rain, and had such a hard time getting out of bed at all. My elbow is very sore now, all the time; Rose says I have a kind of tendinitis that will really only get better if I stop doing stuff for quite a while. Since that�s not possible while the house work is going on, she�s going to give me an anti-inflammatory and see if that helps. If it doesn�t, maybe she can convince a doctor she knows to give me a cortisone shot for a reduced rate. Meanwhile I�m showing my age a little, with these aches. My right hand has the same problem. Knees, some days, ditto. I asked her about glucosamine condroitin, which I used to take when I was running. The most recent data seems to indicate that it�s no better than a placebo. Oh well.

I was grateful for the rain, anyway. It�s an excuse to do indoor projects. Marc and I did try to take a bureau and side table to the auction house, but it was unexpectedly closed. We saw in the paper that an employee of Auction Guy�s, a woman who keeps the records as things are bid on and sold, has been arrested for fraud and larceny at the funeral home where she also worked. The article talked about stealing things from dead people�s houses. Marc wondered if she had laundered any stolen goods through the auction house. Yikes. That wouldn�t bode well for our friend Auction Guy even assuming he knew nothing about it.

So we left the stuff in my car and will try again tomorrow. Meanwhile I went to the bank and withdrew lots of money for Roof Guy next week. More work has occurred on the chimneys, though one of the workers went AWOL for a couple of days. He has to do the flashing so I hope he comes back.

The band recorded my new song yesterday; that�s why I was late getting out of rehearsal. It�s just a demo, quick and not too picky, and we�ll continue to develop the song, but I needed a copy for Dar�s birthday. Chris mixed it after I left and emailed me an mp3 today. We discussed it, he�ll make a small change and upload a real file somewhere on the web that I can download tomorrow and put on CD. Technology. Make it work for you.

After all that, and some laundry, it was time to clear brush. The rain stopped for a while and Marc came over and dug around a little with the dynahoe. Then he brought out the chainsaw and we did some necessary culling of saplings and bittersweet. The second dogwood is in a little better light now. It�s tall and spindly, having been crowded by oaks and locust and the ever-present bittersweet and grapevine. I�ve left the overarching arbor of autumn olive that marks the entrance to the path to Rose and Marc�s house, through the woods. It�s very pretty now, with the red berries and deep greeny-silver leaves. I can see it directly out the sitting room window.

I like to watch a movie with dinner, so I made sloppy joes and started watching the first season of Her0es again. I�ve run out of Netflix at the moment and find myself rather at sea without something to watch. Really liking it again. I had tried to start watching 6 Ft. Under again, but couldn�t get into the high drama the second time. I was so hooked on it the first time around. Maybe this time I know too much � that it�s only going to get worse for everyone involved before it ever gets the slightest bit better � so I couldn�t stomach it.

In a rare burst of evening energy, I then cleared a bunch more boxes and stuff in the living room. Now there is a goodly space in the back half. I got out the power washer and did the floor for the first time in there. I turned the bureau around to face the fireplace, and started to set up the futon facing the bureau when Dar called. Now it�s too late to do any more furniture stuff. It�s time to brush teeth, wash face, put in mouth guard and get to bed. It�s raining steadily, pounding on the house and forest.

Sunday Night

How does this moment of the week come so quickly? I get sad on Sunday nights, having had not enough down time and knowing I have to get up long before dawn tomorrow. A good dinner might help. I will hie me home and make it.

I did accomplish most of my list today. Hauled brush, had a practice (though have not started learning the bass part, owing to some confusion over whether I had the file Chris made for me. I have it now, but not the stamina), did errands, washed hair, juiced vegetables, and obtained an anti-inflammatory from Rose, for my elbow. It hurts a lot right now. But it was a gorgeous day, just warm and sunny and summerlike. No chimney guys showed up.

Tomorrow, must move some dirt around and also must get another board from Home Depot. Found another rotten one.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!