Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


September 03, 2009

8:37 a.m.

Hints of Fall

The deer are changing color. Three gray bucks visited my yard this morning, way at the edge of the woods, and they were frisky, butting each other and kicking up their heels in between grazing. That's one reason I was delayed getting to work!

I simply cannot scrape off what's left on the ceiling. I'll have to get some sandpaper and just do the edges. It was disappointing last night to not finish, but there's always so damned much to do. The night before I pruned bushes and vacuumed water out of the basement. Tonight I have to go to Norwich to look at a washer/dryer that's on Craigslist. I can only do so much per night; I'm already tired. The weedwhacked grass needs to be laboriously mowed up with the "bag" mower (relative term) so I can get the loose stuff off; this will be, of course, exhausting and require two dozen emptyings of the half-full but plugged-up bag, into the tractor bucket, and then all driven to the compost heap across the field. I can get some of this done tonight (especially if I remember to go to the hardware store and get a replacement gas cap for the mower) and at least I don't have to get up early tomorrow. I just have to be ready about 10am for the chimney guy to come give me another estimate.

It's hard to run a run-down household by oneself.

Must go before I get caught doing this at work.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!