Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


August 25, 2009

8:09 a.m.

Hoo-hoo-hoooooo

Once again this morning, I heard in the predawn the cry of either an owl or a coyote. There were hoots or barks in pairs, with the last one trilling and trailing off in an eerie warning. Maybe it was an Owlote. It�s a rare animal, native to Coventry, which no one has ever actually seen. All we know is that those who have risen in the inky black of the wee hours of a late summer morning, and ventured out into the woods between Bornearly�s and Rose�s houses, have NEVER BEEN SEEN AGAIN. There is just the chilling hoot, the triumphant trill, and then � silence.

Yesterday I was nervous, trying to get organized around another insurance inspection, wondering if I could do enough by the time they come to convince them that this house is not falling down. I should find out today if and when they�re willing to return for a second chance. I�m hoping they�ll come not earlier than Friday, my day off. I could have an evening list for the next three nights, tidy up some ceilings, sweep the front bedroom which is the biggest disaster area, scrub some more kitchen. Maybe I could even start to paint the dining room ceiling. The lawn is bothering me. I need Marc here to help start the giant weed whacker, but I�d like to cut it again. And I�ve never dragged the thousand-foot extension cord outside and used the hedge clippers yet. John begged me to hire someone to do the lawn and said he�d pay for it, but it�s something I CAN do, and Marc will say we should reserve our money for the things we can�t do. However, getting that out of the way would be a great load off my shoulders. If the grass is just short enough to mow with the regular mower I can keep on top of it. The weed whacking is a hot, messy, tiring, disgusting job. (Like mowing isn�t, but at least I can start the lawnmower on my own.) Anyway maybe I�ll make a call today and see if there�s some local, burly guy who can do it once.

Last night all I wanted to do was make dinner and watch a Thin Man detective comedy, so that�s what I did. I had a slightly hard time getting to sleep for a change, and just before the alarm this morning was having a dream of staying with an acquaintance who had also promised haven to some other friends who turned out to be very loud Jesus freaks. I didn�t feel the annoyance I�d have felt in real life, but I was packing some cool-weather jackets in my car and thinking I had to tell her that if they were going to stay, I�d have to leave. Meanwhile they were shouting and praising the Lord in the background.

Maybe it�s just feeling put upon by the inspection people. Because Jeezus, it is Freaking me out a little.

Anyway, now I�m at work finishing this and must get around to beginning the work day. Marc is taking the day off to help V & S move, so it may be quiet back here. The big boss has been in, however, and any time he�s around it seems crowded. He�s one of these people who thinks he knows everything about everything based on very little information. Because I stated yesterday that I rarely had celery around to make tuna salad with, he came to the meandering conclusion that I didn�t eat vegetables or go to the grocery store. What an ass.

I�d rather be scraping my ceiling, but there�ll be plenty of time for that, I suppose.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!