Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


August 19, 2009

8:49 p.m.

Cat Talking Loudly in the Kitchen, and Then Church Bells

Work, sweat, scrape, dig, haul, cook, wash, eat, sigh, click, flutter, surf, bathe.

The click was me taking a picture of nine wild turkeys in the field tonight. Then Rose called a little later and said there was a whole flock of them nesting in a big tree in their yard!

The scrape was me coaxing loose paint off the dining room ceiling with a putty knife. I was going to hire someone to do this but Marc talked me into doing it myself. I'm just letting it fall all over the floor this time instead of trying to catch it in a bucket. He said if I did a little each night it would be scraped in a week. Then I can paint it with that textured paint that has sand mixed in, and it'll hide the edges of the flaked-off parts. So I don't have to endlessly sand the ceiling first. I'm into that. A textured ceiling; how tony.

The dig was me filling in the rest of the pipe trench. I never got around to using the iron rake and taking out the rocks yet. Just trying to find where "flat" is, or was before we dug up all the sod and relocated several square yards of dirt. I did rescue a little reddish toad. I was very glad I hadn't halved him with the shovel.

The click was me checking email over here at Rose's, expecting a response from someone about a Craigslisted pellet stove. It's still available, and it looks absolutely ideal. I did some research online. Even Marc was really excited about it, so I knew it was good. It may be the only one I need.

That was the flutter, too.

I sure miss the time I used to have to spend on Facebook. But here it is almost bedtime and I still have to bathe and wash my hair at home. At least tomorrow is Thursday, the new Friday. It'll be good to get an internet connection there. I wonder when that will even happen?

Anyway, I will have a fresh ceiling soon. That will be encouraging.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!