Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


June 23, 2009

9:06 a.m.

And... It Is Almost Done

Closing is 12:30 today! Son signed all his papers yesterday so he won't even be there. It was a bit dicey because his attorney wasn't available again until lunchtime on Wednesday, which interfered with my box-moving day and the help that's available. So my attorney proposed meeting with me first today to sign everything, and then she'll take the paperwork over to his attorney's office and do whatever they have to do with it.

And we're pretty certain Son left the rest of the furniture in the house. Marc is very curious to see what's in the locked file cabinets in the basement. I'm betting on $11,000 (based on a dream I had; I just know there's a box of money in the house somewhere, ha) and he thinks it's more Poland Springs vodka. Yes, we found a half empty bottle of Poland Springs vodka in the one drawer that was unlocked.

So: Closing, pick up a few things on the way back like fish cutters*, maybe a rake, and look for a window un-sticking tool like the one Marc can't find. All the windows are painted shut and I have to get some air flow in there. Call electric company, change clothes, gather cleaning stuff and fan, and GET OVER TO MAH HOUSIE!!

*Fish cutters. They're not just for cutting fish any more. It's what Rose calls the little ratchet-cut pruners.

I'm not sure whether I'm going to giggle or cry or jump up and down or stare into space when it's done, but Angela and I are certainly going to have our Moment. So many miracles occurred in this unfolding, I can't count them all. But I'm sure we all will -- count and recount, as we tell the story again and again.

This is a long way off, but I would love it if my neice and grand-neice inherited this house (they're our only descendents, through my terrible brother, oddly enough) and then Pearl, Marc's neice, would inherit their house. I said this to Dar and he said, "Hey! Aren't I in your will?" which is funny because he's 16 years my senior. I told him we were going to die at the same moment, lying in bed holding hands saying, "I've had enough!" He exclaimed vehemently that he would NEVER have enough; he loved this life and wanted more, more.

Some of that is having no particular belief system that involves an afterlife, but I know he shares the same love of earthliness that I do. I think of all the seasons I'll get to watch around my House, all the miraculous flowers that will bloom -- it'll be a circus of flowers -- and the huge garden, and whenever the work seems overly hard, I'll just look back on this month and say, "At least I'm not going through THAT again!"

Must shower and get presentable for meeting with an attorney. She's all business, where Angela is funny and snide and passionate and in on all the subterfuge. I must play a professional part for an hour or so. I think I'll draw a house on my belly that only I will know about.



|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!