Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


June 20, 2009

9:14 a.m.

Some Other Stuff

I thought I'd post an entry having nothing at all to do with You-Know-What (see all previous entries for the last month). So...

The chickens have been going outside for short periods -- they're maybe 3 weeks old now -- in a little chicken-wire enclosure. It's amazing, how chicken behavior is coded in. No one is teaching them to be keen for a worm; to lust after small things that move around. They'd only ever eaten chick feed. But toss a worm or a beetle into their midst and all chaos ensues. Automatic behavior includes:

1. Grab small, moving or wiggling object by pecking at it until it sticks.

2. Run as if your life depends on it. Run randomly and madly; into the crowd, out of the crowd. Run even if no one is currently chasing you.

3. After a long time, eat moving or wiggling object.

If you are not lucky enough to be the first one to grab and run, your instructions are:

1. Pursue flockmate with object. Pursue randomly and madly. Attempt to steal object.

2. See previous instructions.

Fun.

********

By golly, I'm going to take a walk today. I'm underexercised. Also have been stress-eating all week, eating in a madcap fashion; eating like a chicken with a worm (but without all the running). In between all that I've been laughing my butt off at icanhascheezburger, and now, certain family photos whose website I will not publish, because that's Poolagirl's thunder and I'm sure she has more exciting and embarrassing things to post.

I also watched Kill Bill and laughed long at that. Uma Thurman is positively the most riveting actress I can think of, except maybe Meryl Streep. I know some folks aren't M.S. fans, but I just love an actor or actress who loves their work and makes it interesting.

It's a beautiful, gray day and probably will rain later on. Birds are twittering at each other, and a while ago there was a positive grievance of bluejays, objecting to something or other. The humanoids on the block are relatively quiet.

Rose and Marc had a couple over for dinner last night. I think it might have been a coworker of Marc's and his wife but I'm not completely sure... anyway it was a very strange evening. Marc was at "beer-30," which he does on Fridays after work, hanging out with his guy cronies at the Irish Club for a beer before going home. Rose was preparing dinner, with Diva on her play gym in the kitchen as usual. The couple arrived 45 minutes early, with no apology or in fact indication that they knew they were early. This was a bit awkward for Rose, who wasn't ready for them at all. But then the wife exclaimed that she has a phobia for birds, and sat in the far corner of the kitchen with a magazine in front of her face, saying, "Are you sure she won't fly at me?" Diva doesn't fly yet and couldn't anyway because her feathers aren't long enough. Plus she doesn't really give a dang who's on the other side of the kitchen anyway. Soon the couple started dropping big hints about how hungry they were, and was Marc coming home soon? because they wanted to eat. It still was prior to the time they were expected to show up. Rose gently reminded them of this but I don't know if it sank in.

If this is the couple I think it is, Marc's told me that the husband (whom I work with as well, so I kind of know him) makes five peanut butter and jelly sandwiches on white bread every Sunday and puts them in the freezer in baggies, one for each lunch. Every week. He's also a quite brilliant sound engineer. But, c'mon... 260 some-odd pb&j's a year? Don'tcha at least want baloney once in a while?

Does anyone still eat baloney?

So, quirky folks. Anyway, maybe they'll opt not to come back since there's a deadly baby parrot in the house. And Rose might just throw her into the chicken wire enclosure with the 27 chicklets! Bet there'd be some running going on then.

********

The poison ivy on my arm isn't so much waking me up any more. I know where to scratch around it even if I'm only half awake, so I can go back to sleep pretty quickly. But oh, man, the dreams I'm still having. I lead a very interesting night life!

********

Rose has now lost over 20 lbs., and it's making me aware of my own slouchy habits of late. But she looks so great. She went through all her smaller clothes this weekend and now has gobs of pants she hasn't worn in a couple of years. Kudos to her!

Well, I'm awake enough to get on with the day's list, so best get to it. Probably by tomorrow I'll be back to writing about You-Know-What.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!