Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


June 05, 2009

11:35 p.m.

Clear Space

Very nice, busy day. I slept in all the way til 9am, though I probably was fairly awake by 7, dozing on and off. My bed is so comfortable; what a luxury to lie in it not having to get up, wrench myself into wakefulness and go fulfill obligations.

However, I did fulfill certain obligations today. I had an appointment at the family planning clinic to pick up more birth control pills, and they had told me that clinic was closing at the end of the month. Bye-bye, free pills. But the program through which I've been getting them, which is called the Wise Woman program, is continuing and that means I can still get mammos and GYN workups gratis. I'll miss the pills; they regulate my otherwise erratic periods and also make them almost nonexistent. I have three more months' worth which they gave me today, and then I guess I'll just go off and take what my body gives me. I can't have that many more years of periods anyway.

I also made the big check deposit, copying the required documents and printing out the part of my current statement from the bank's website that confirmed the money had gone in. Then I faxed that stuff to my mortgage broker, and Dar also faxed his new bank statements today from where he is. That should be all the paperwork she needs, thank goodness.

I don't have exactly enough yet to account for what we'll have to pay at closing, but we're all getting paid again by then and we'll scrape up the rest somewhere.

On the way back I stopped and did one load of laundry at Rose's, and Arthur sat in my lap for an hour and a half, purring, curling up on his back for tummy rubs, sleeping and dreaming while his rabbit paws twitched and his tail waved around. I love it when he gets like this because he's so anxious most of the time. He scares himself right out of the room. But when he gets all contented like this he can totally relax. I imagine he's trying to make up for mamma-love he didn't get as a kitten or something.

There was a fabulous buffalo succotash waiting for me at home in the slow cooker, so I left the rest of the laundry for later and came home to check on it. These meals are always so hard for me to finish off by myself, and sure enough, when I made it known to family that there was ready-made dinner, I and my crockpot got invited over. Rose didn't get home from work until 8pm, she had so many charts to do and then grocery shopping. Pearl made whole wheat penne to go under the succotash. It was AMAZING. I just threw in various vegetables (onion, mushrooms, corn, lima beans, red pepper, zucchini), a bunch of spaghetti sauce, and a package of ground buffalo that I'd browned in a pot first. Man, I love one-dish meals. And I got the rest of the laundry done.

And played with chicks. They are so cool! They've gone from golf ball size to tennis ball size in just a few days. I often put my arm down into the nursery pen with feed in my palm so they've gotten used to it. Now I can stick my bare hand in there and some of them will hop up on it. Marc and I talked about putting my potential, future chicken coop (everybody is assuming I'll end up with chickens too) near enough to the big fenced garden that we can have a special run directly in there when we want them to go into the garden. We'd have to wait until the crops are big enough not to get pecked to death, and Pearl said we have to keep them away from tomatoes because they'll just peck holes in them. So we'll segregate the 'maters. But what a great way to keep grubs and beetles out of the garden.

That'd be next year, of course.

********

I stepped on the scale this morning and laughed at how much weight I've gained in the last few months. It wasn't quite as bad as I thought, but it was enough to make me decide that THIS is the day I start laying off the dessert. I haven't been this high in probably five years. I am enjoying having womanly boobage, but the waistline is a bit of a problem. I have more pants that I can't wear right now than ones that I can. Nice party while it lasted!

********

It is supposed to be a gorgeous, sunny, warm week, starting with a blissful weekend. I will be packing over the next two days, and my goal is to make this place look open and clear. I won't get everything done, but right now I can hardly walk through any room, there is so much in progress. I'm ready for some clear space, in my house, in my head.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!