Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


May 27, 2009

8:17 p.m.

The Busty Soprano is Singing!

La lala la LAAAAAAA, the house is ours, I get our mortgage approved tomorrow, and take documents to Dar on Saturday for signing. I talked to him today finally, and told him the whole story of the weekend, and he was so flabbergasted he was speechless and had to sit down. He said he'd been kicking himself all week because he felt he'd failed me. What a silly ass. He's definitely in on the mortgage soup, and we're going to all swing it together -- Dar, me, my family, and Rose's boss, who is also a good friend and is helping us out with the larger down payment. Without any more doubt, without any more hiccups, House is MINE. (And when I say Mine, I do mean Ours. But it's more fun and more economical to just say Mine and not explain it every time. You'll know what I mean.)

Son is due up this weekend to finish clearing out the house, and we've been instructed to lay low and not sneak over and try to cut the grass, which is now high enough to hide a panther. We don't know how long he's planning to stay this time, but there has to be a bank appraisal and a termite inspection in the next week and a half or so. I wondered if it would happen when he was there.

We're hoping for some more, quality dumpster-diving after he's gone. At least we'll mostly know what to look for; we've been in the house so many times.

********

In other news, the big boss at work (who is a real "hail-fellow-well-met" sort up front, but I'm told he's really a dick) told me today that my work looks excellent. I have a reputation now for being smart and quick. Hooray! But Marc confessed to one coworker at lunch today, in my presence, that I am actually his sister in law and we're not telling the bosses in case they're wiggy about it. This guy didn't care of course, but his response was, "Oh! I thought she was your mistress!" Well, we commute every day together, and it's clear that we're on familiar terms. I wondered suddenly if the other three guys who don't know (besides the bosses) also think we're carrying on behind Rose's back. I suspect there will be found moments when we'll tell them individually, too. Mostly the inquisitiveness has died down, but Big Boss today did ask me about my music and the band. If he asks what it's called I should be ready with something plausible but false. Any ideas, anyone? Plausible name for a mostly-acoustic band?

I must gather papers together for my meeting tomorrow. Then I will be ready for the day and can take the next two hours off. I'm rereading all of Jasper Fforde's "Tuesday Next" books. God, I love them. He is just my type of clever.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!