Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


April 21, 2009

11:42 a.m.

Overcast, Leaves Popping

I was going to hibernate today, as I've been doing fairly well at getting through the daily list. Rose emailed, though, and asked if I could pick up some documents waiting for her at the town hall. I'm glad to do that for her. I have vague notions about going to the gym, as I haven't been in quite a few days and this morning I chose to weigh myself. I've gained about four pounds since a few weeks ago. Oops. Too many desserts. No wonder some of my pants are getting tight. I'd been doing pretty well up to that point. I also need to package and mail some CDs that a fan bought. So much for hibernation day.

Night sweats are consistent right now. Every night, clammy, wakeful, cold, hot. I wake up in the wee hours and change my top. Last night I even got up and dried the back of my hair with the hair dryer. No wonder I have this rash on my back, if I'm sweating all night and lying on it. Did I say I was looking forward to menopause?

I was just making my morning tea, and it reminded me of a silly dream I had last night. Something about having coffee from some public place like a reception or a gig, and couldn't find the right creamers. Milk was spoiled, the little creamers curdled when I put them in. Maybe I haven't been cuddled enough lately. Maybe I was reliving our stay with our kosher friends last week when I made strong tea and all they could offer was "beverage whitener" because they couldn't serve dairy at Passover. It curdled instantly in the tea.

Oh, well. In years past I'd have been upset to learn that I'd gained weight. Now I know it's just a choice. I can make a different choice. Meanwhile I need to go to Kohl's and get some pants that fit.

********

I ordered tuning forks for my healing practice, and they should be arriving any day. I can't wait to try them out.

********

Dar and I are getting pre-approved for a loan now. I should have a response this afternoon. We had to give numbers from our tax returns for the last two years. It's a little depressing to find that the amount you make in a year isn't exactly what they go on. The bottom line is much different for a self employed person who has a lot of business expenses. My bottom line is almost invisible. But we will see what we will see, and here in the place of no information (since we haven't had the house appraised or had a dialogue with Son yet), it's easy to have hope. This part, I'm good at.

In the cart-before-the-horse department, of which I am Chairperson, I have been gazing at paint swatches. I never had so many rooms to paint, and I'm loving solving the puzzles of flow and feel, the aesthetic that a color choice brings to a room. What will happen in this room? What color facilitates that? Should the trim be darker or lighter than the walls? What room is next to this one? More saturated colors should go into smaller rooms. The living room is very large -- light and airy with lots of windows. Light and neutral colors, maybe a hint of something. The tiny room with the closed fireplace, which I am calling the knitting nook, could stand a very saturated color on the walls and light trim. I'm looking at "Golden Marguerites" for the walls, which is similar to my Golden Ember but less greeny. It's delicious, and offset by Cornsilk trim, the fireplace would really stand out and the room would be crisply defined. A great place to sit and read, or meditate. Maybe it'll just have a little altar and a cushion. It's a passthrough room between the living room and the dining room, so guests would be likely to see it. Could be very sweet.

I also want wind chimes.

Sunday is the day we bring our realtor in to look. I'll try not to prattle too much about House in the meanwhile.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!