Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


April 16, 2009

5:20 p.m.

Home

Wahoo! Looky what I got in the mail from Poolagirl!! I am now an official PIE-RAT!!

I have been practicing saying "ARRRRR," and threatening people smaller than me.

Slow cashiers are now made to walk the plank, ditto people standing in the Express line with more than the allowed number of items. This hat gives me clout I never knew I had. More than that -- it gives me courage. I will finally be able to realize all my dreams, knowing that no one can stop a Pie-Rat. No more will I be held back in life because of mere fear. Fear is False Evidence Appearing as Real. Pie-Rats are the real thing.

Okay, so I first typed "Pie-Rats are the real thigs," which could be construed as "the real thugs." Let me say right now that we are in no way related to the Pirates recently troubling the seas around Somalia. Or the Pittsburgh Pirates. We never hurt anyone who doesn't deserve it, and are mainly law-abiding except when it comes to minor breaking and entering. And we only steal stuff that's been abandoned anyway. We call it Recycling.

Anyway, thank you, Poolie! I will treasure my hat, and wear it often as I tend the gardens around My House (trademark pending), just as soon as Dar buys it for me. Meanwhile, shake it, baby!

********

I just dropped a poppy seed into the keyboard of my computer. ARRRRRRRR.

********

So. We did our school show, and it went over very well. I can't believe how much we LOATHE preparing for these things, and by the time we've finished the second performance we're all, "Let's get sombreros and capes!" "I've got a bit we could do!" "Let's do more research and update our numbers!" If we just could book a whole gob of them in a row we'd not only do the show better, we'd be in clover. Marketing has been tricky, but we're hoping that arts in schools will be getting more funding soon.

********

It's jolly being home. The only drawback, really, to the school shows is that they're early morning and we don't get much sleep. But then we're done sometimes by noon and the day stretches ahead, lovely and bursting with possibilities. Sometimes it's just a nap. It doesn't matter. The point is you get home and it's still light. And now, every day, Spring leaves are pushing out and the magnolias are starting to pop, and the forsythia is just everywhere.

I confess that on the way home I stopped at My House (TM pend.) and sat under my big tree for a bit. I listened to birds and watched a pair of robins hop around the lawn, listening for worms. Sweet.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!