Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


April 13, 2009

11:53 a.m.

More Sneaking About

Two friends of mine, who do not know each other and live in different parts of the country, have, in the last 2 weeks, had dreams that I was getting or had gotten married.

Between you and me, I have been entertaining idle and pleasant fantasies that the house-buying caper might eventually lead to Dar and I deciding to get married. This is not because I am eager to get married, but because it is enjoyable to think about. I have not shared these thoughts with anyone. Apparently, however, they are leaking out into the AEther and being picked up by those in my inner circle.

The mushroom soup was a complete hit. I think it would also make a wonderful potato-leek-mushroom soup. I'll send the recipe to anyone who wants it.

After dinner, there being some light left, Rose, Marc and I traipsed over to My House with a key Marc had found in the dumpster, on that day when the neighbors aided and abetted our Dumpster Recon. He just wondered if it would fit any of the house doors, but it didn't. We looked in the windows instead. Then we investigated the overgrown tangle on the south side which looks like it used to be a sort of garden, and could be again. There is a huge old azalea on the back corner, blooming profusely now. We found the old, rusted, knocked-down swingset in the brambles. The boys must have played there in the 50s and 60s. I wanted to walk all around the perimeter of the big acre lawn, so we started at the huge maple tree and talked about how we loved it and Rose said it could easily hold a hammock and not even notice, because it was so big and strong. Then we walked along the edge of the woods and found massive grape vines and wild roses just beginning to leaf, and beech trees towering, and I found a little pit where they had put dog poo, and I ran the last stretch back to tag my tree again before we headed back into the woods.

We found discarded plastic water pipe and a mashed piece of old gutter among the leaves. On the big flat rock that would be good for sitting I rummaged in the mulch that had built up and found a very old, rusted toy tractor that must have belonged to one of the boys. It would have been there for over thirty years, I'd guess!

All these sad old treasures.

We have learned that Son has turned the electricity back on, so the pump in the well house is working again.

********

It's chilly and windy again today, but sunny at least. I have about seven things I want to get done today. First is a call to Wes's mortgage broker for some info I didn't feel I got from the other one. Then errands, and possibly gym again. Later there is leftover mushroom soup.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!