Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


April 11, 2009

11:04 p.m.

Easter Eve

Happy Adopt-a-Pagan-Symbol Day.

I went to bed at 9:30 last night and slept 12 hours, aside from the hour I was up between 2:30 and 3:30am with a flaring rash on my back. Apparently the textured nightshirt I was wearing irritated my skin just that much that it went over the top. It was pretty irritating at times today but my fingers were better. Don't ask me; I just work here.

Why 12 hours? Maybe it was the last of the Cymbalta trying to kick my ass before becoming history.

Today was soup day. I forsook all other things to make what might be the most incredibly delicious mushroom soup ever. It's not cream based so even Rose, who is on Weight Watchers, can eat it without reserve. I found the recipe online and modified it to include four kinds of mushrooms, not just one. One of the types was dried porcini mushrooms. I had to mince them, and the aroma that wafted up just about knocked me over. The soup also contains white wine, and other than that, just stock and onions and garlic and fresh rosemary and a little butter. The secret is in how each step is cooked -- patiently, allowing the garlic and the onions, and then the mushrooms, to "sweat" in the butter without browning. And you don't wash the shrooms in water. You just brush the loam off, or wipe gently with a paper towel. This is a big lesson I learned about mushrooms. Washing them with water takes out a lot of the flavor.

Somehow I managed to not eat any of it yet. I got invited out for Indian food tonight, which gave me an excuse. Tomorrow the soup will be even better, and I'll take it to Rose's house and the family will enjoy it together.

I still can't believe I spent all that time in bed last night. I never go to bed that early!

Anyway, that's all there is for now. I hope everyone has a fun day tomorrow, surrounded by loved ones and good food.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!