Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


April 08, 2009

11:29 a.m.

A Smidge of Progress

Alert the media! I finally started to do something.

Yesterday I began listing the pile of things I want to sell on eBay. I started with a few sets of Elixir guitar strings. I must have underpriced myself with the "Buy Now" price, because someone bought three of the four sets within a few hours. Chris urged me to raise the Buy Now price a bit, especially since I'm offering free shipping. I've had another inquiry today for multiple sets, and I told the guy that further listings would be a couple of bucks higher.

These are really expensive strings, but they last forever because they're micro-coated. We love them. In fact we endorse them, which is why I have so many sets. I rarely have to change mine!

Chris loaned me his tripod, which helps immensely in getting sharp photos on the digital camera. Today I'm taking pictures of some other things. I set up a nice, makeshift little photo studio with my shoji screen. I hung a lovely fabric over it for a backdrop, and covered a stool with a white sheet. I took my clip-on full spectrum plant light and aimed it at the setup for that healthy photographic glow. The pesky part is having to dig up instruction booklets and so forth for the electronics. Fortunately, I usually keep those. I have a couple of large batik fabric things that will have to be pressed. The 6' square tent will have to be erected in my living room before I can photograph it. I hope it's clean and smells good; it's been in storage a while.

Actually it might be fun to keep the tent. If I get My House I might just want to camp out in the yard sometimes. Just for fun. I bought it when we used to do festivals and only used it a handful of times. Other than that I would occasionally set it up indoors, put my airbed in it and "camp in." It's better than a broom-and-blanket tent!

(Non-sequiturous note: There is a dog in the neighborhood somewhere that howls mournfully these days. I think its owners must go to work and leave it. I hate when people do that.)

In other news, my niece-in-law has just ordered 25 chicks!! 25 was the minimum. They only wanted a dozen or so, so they'll be looking for people to take or buy the others. I can't wait!! Some years I've gone to the Big E, which is the Eastern States Expo in Massachusetts. It's a huge agricultural fair with horse and dog shows, rides, a circus, buildings representing each state in New England with stuff made in that state. I always love most visiting the chick hatchery. I could stand there all day watching chicks hatch and fluff themselves up and get about the business of living. Now I'll get to see some close up, and even pick them up!! I can't stress enough how this delights me. How many people get to pick up fluffy baby chickens?

So. It's not raining, so it's possible I could bury St. Christopher today. The rest of the list includes mailing out the strings, mailing my taxes (I didn't have to pay this year! Hallelujia), going to the gym, making bread and painting a certain blue egg.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!