Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


April 07, 2009

10:45 a.m.

A Few Small Things

I think I might have a spot of poison ivy on my nipple. How the hell -- ?

Or else it's just one of those bizarre skin things that seems to happen to me these days.

It itches. I shouldn't go out in public.

********

I managed to increase my running time by five minutes yesterday. I don't really have a goal there but it was nice to feel I'd progressed.

I spoke with my friend and ex-boyfriend James last night about ritually cleansing the house and he had some good suggestions. He even volunteered to come up from NJ and help. He's a great celebrant -- he can summarize a ceremony in two breaths and get all the important elements in.

It's still raining. Tomorrow it's supposed to be nice, so I may pick that day to go up and rebury St. Christopher. I've begun a dialogue with my mother, too (who passed in '02, you might remember), because I think she's had a hand in my dwelling places in the past. When I was a kid in the military, and our family moved fairly often, she was the one who organized the moves. Sometimes this happened after just a year. A company would come and pack us up, but I think she did the important stuff herself, and was in charge of making sure it all happened and that we were comfortable once we got to the new place. This had to have been a challenge with three kids.

********

I had that frantic packing dream last night, but worse than usual! The band was about to come home from England, and we were literally minutes from leaving for the airport, when I realized I hadn't finished packing. We'd been there so long I couldn't remember how many bags I had or what had gone into each one. To make it worse I'd accumulated some large things that would put the suitcases over the weight limit. A portable tv or boom box of some kind, several large winter squashes. I looked in one bag and my entire, fake Christmas tree was in there, folded up. I'd brought it for some reason and then found I didn't need it -- there were already similar trees in England. I ended up throwing things haphazardly into cases and compartments, thinking how difficult it was going to be to unpack. I was panicking. I thought I'd probably miss the flight.

I took the tv/boom box out. I'd just have to let that go.

Do you think I'm having moving anxiety?

********

Let's see if I can get motivated to do a few small things today, eh?


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!