Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


April 05, 2009

10:53 a.m.

Late Breakfast

It was a happy and effusive crowd at our house concert last night. A number of good friends came, and I got a dinner invitation from a couple who raise goats and chickens and bees. Karen was the girlfriend of my twelve-years-deceased-crazy-ex-boyfriend, before me, so I knew her way back then. Her husband Jim was the boyfriend she had after Ex. She's been a massage therapist for many years, but a few years ago she accidentally discovered that she had a passion and a talent for watercolor painting. Fast forward five years, and she's an award winning artist whose paintings are sometmes so lifelike they look like photographs. I've had only sporadic contact with her in these intervening years, but more lately since I told her about MacDowell and she applied for the Fall. So, soon I get to go pet goats and see chickens, and come home with fresh eggs. Fun!

During the writing of this I've had a call from Eagle, who is leaving for Tennessee tomorrow for some kind of dance event. Now I feel like I'd better get myself together for the day. I'm helping the fam put in a garden this afternoon, and doing laundry while I'm there. It's still quite gusty today. The wind chimes downstairs are singing. But it's sunny for the moment, and it'll be good to work with soil -- and Rose said she'd show me how to drive the tractor. :)


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!