Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


March 18, 2009

4:44 p.m.

Another Slow, Beautiful Day

This is the first day off Prednisone. One can take it for three or five days and then stop without tapering off. My skin has had blessed relief; I expect (hate to say it, but c'mon) it'll start to flare again shortly. Anyway, Rose warned me that I'd be logey for a day or two, and boy, she was right. I went to bed late-ish and very sleepy last night, got up quite early with some interest in starting the day, and in the mid afternoon, hit a wall. Oh, this morning I was cleaning the bathroom -- cleaning the SHOWER, all at once, with various scrubbies, without actually being IN the shower and remembering that I really ought to scrub it someday. I started a little knitted dress for the doll I'm making for Rose's birthday. I did some computer stuff. I made pancakes; I showered. The day was bright; there was promise of much more to come! But -- then I crashed and couldn't get up for a while, just lying there saying, "What happened?"

So I didn't get back to land records to finish what I started yesterday, and haven't gone out at all in fact. Marc is burning the rest of the brush and I want to help, but I found out it's tomorrow, so I'm off the hook doing anything tonight. I'll try to finish the doll dress. I can go to land records any time. I'm just enjoying the quiet gurgle of the refrigerator down at the other end of the apartment, the late afternoon sun slanting in against my plants here in the living room, distant car noises.

Things have gotten piled up for tomorrow. Initially it was just a knitting klatsch at Rose's friend's house that I was going to. Now there's the brush burning -- ooh, that sounds more exciting, and more exercise too -- but then Eagle emailed me and said she might have to bring a friend to the Hartford airport tomorrow, which is just over halfway here anyway, so would a visit be possible? We had arranged for hir to visit on the first anyway, but then this came up. At first I was tempted to rearrange everything to accommodate it, but then I erased the paragraph and said I would mull it over a bit. I'm not sure I'm ready to have hir come that soon. For one thing, this place is not shipshape for a guest and that embarrasses me. For another, there are all these other things happening. I can't see bringing Eagle to a knitting klatsch, and I'm not sure she would be interested in yard fires. I want my family to meet hir around the dinner table, a safe and nourishing place where everybody will feel comfortable. Plus I have a phone call appointment with a good friend from my high school days, with whom I haven't spoken in 33 years, and that happens at 11:00 tomorrow night.

Things might just be too tangled up right now for a spontaneous visit. The other reason, too, is that our meeting was very intense and I feel I'm still decompressing from it. I guess I wasn't aware of that until this came up, but it made me conscious of the need to reflect a while. Anyway, we'll talk tonight and I'll decide.

********

After telling Wes about my first meeting with E., he asked me if I had been physically attracted to hir, because of the cross dressing and all. He knows me very well and knows of the ways my preferences have bent from time to time, so it was a natural question. I had wondered the same thing before meeting Eagle, but it wasn't exactly the case. I don't know what it is, really, that I like about hir. It's as yet uncategorized. But at the end of our conversation Wes said, "Well, let me know if nothing works out between you, because she sounds really interesting!" I laughed out loud. Wes is, as far as I'm aware, straight. But I could tell he was very curious. Wouldn't it be funny if he developed a crush. I'll have to arrange for them to meet, just to be devious.

********

So my head's all fuzzy. I thought I had all these plans of things to do today, but I just can't think what they were. I did charge my Reiki grids, too, very important, as one of the affirmations was for my friend who just had huge abdominal surgery for a tumor, and one was about the House. OH! I almost forgot to report on what I found at Land Records!

My House was built way earlier than any of us suspected -- 1799. I was able to trace owners back as far as 1916 or so, and then I lost the trail for a while and the office closed for the day. Originally it was part of at least 28 acres, and now has just under five. The man who just passed away bought it in 1956, and must have moved it up the hill shortly afterwards. It was last assessed in 1986. It has two full bathrooms (thankfully) and three fireplaces. Judging from the outside, that must mean that one of the upstairs bedrooms has a fireplace -- the very bedroom I was looking into whilst standing on the tall ladder the day Wes and I infiltrated the property. I was right next to the chimney but wouldn't have been able to see directly to my right if there was a mantle there.

In 1986 the House was deemed to have depreciated 20%. Boy, it's sure gone downhill since then.

There was a photocopied picture on the assessment page, not all that big, but it looked like there might have been a white fence around the front yard. That also might have been the yard itself, kind of overexposed, but I couldn't tell.

I would favor a red dogwood in the front lawn.

********

So. That's my lazy day where I never really got out the door. Now it's after 5 and I don't know whether to try to go for a walk still or just follow my sleepy little heart. At least I didn't spend any money today. That's a help.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!