Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


March 15, 2009

10:28 a.m.

Happy Little Day

My back is paying for the driving yesterday -- is this the way it's going to be now, with this car? -- but we had a really lovely gig on the Cape, I sold a few books, and got a lead on another gallery. It's supposed to be over 60 degrees today and I'm eager to get out into it. I didn't get to bed until 2:30 but got up at 8:30 and have been puttering on the computer over a leisurely breakfast, while my back complains loudly about sitting. I must get up and stretch soon, and shower.

I'll go to the House on Main (Rose and Marc's) today and visit, and see what they've done with the chicken coop. The old, rotting little building has come down and trees have been cleared with the Dynahoe already. Pearl wrapped a tow strap around the whole thing and brought it down with the tractor! They're hoping to get baby chicks next month so the new coop has to be done by then. It's so exciting! We've never done farm animals. I'll have a chance to do my sacred burying and maybe help with some clearing of debris on the coop site.

A nap may be in store later.

Other than that, a couple of errands, and I have a lot of books to make again.

Dar told me about a product he's heard about on the radio now called Mole-Scram. It's castor oil based, and you put it on the ground and when it rains it sinks into where they burrow. It gets on their fur, and when they lick it off, it gives them the runs! So they leave that place and never come back, since it has a poopy effect on them. It doesn't hurt them, just gives them a bad impression of the location. I thought they could make one for mice -- make a tiny version of those mist sprayers you see in produce departments, and install it with micro-electronics on the ceiling of the mouse burrow so it would spray every so often. Voila, poopy mice. They'd be outa there in a hurry.

And that's all my back can take right now.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!