Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


March 09, 2009

4:29 p.m.

Pewter Skies

Winter is wringing its last rags. We had a little snow, but it's going to melt, and then probably rain tomorrow and maybe some sleet. I switched my Vermont trip from today to tomorrow -- my new friend says it's a sea of mud up there.

My head's in a still, stuck place, but I'm getting done what needs to be done. I am compelled to quote Annanotbob here, who recently wrote:

"You'd be amazed at how few bad things come to pass if you ignore everything you can't handle till it's urgent. Everything just keeps rolling on whatever you do or don't do, so long as you're not mean about stuff."

How comforting to think that in this time of paralysis-within-tumultuous-change, where I am doing everything I can to keep from getting on with my life, things will sort themselves out in some fashion anyway. And I'm hardly ever mean, so this shouldn't be a problem.

********

We had a lovely local gig on Saturday, to which my family came, and a good number of old friends. My niece in law, Pearl, brought her new boyfriend, and they look like a pair of deer together. So young, slightly shy, and they both have that pale, pearly skin. They look simply gorgeous together. Boyfriend is now a converted fan.

We discovered we were in need of a rehearsal. There were many funny moments -- probably ones that mostly only we were aware of, but one song in particular was a mess. We hadn't done it in a while and I had the bass so Chris couldn't practice it at home beforehand. He reinvented the bass part in a very interesting way and there was one time he started to burst out with the chorus, when it was only time for the B verse. THAT has never happened in this band before. We laughed and laughed about it on the phone today. Plus the big minor-chord vocal climax in another song, where Carol was playing a major chord against it. Oops. Rose said she hadn't noticed the mistakes. Anyway we're getting together Thursday to go over a few things. And once again my guitar cable has gone missing -- Chris left one in England, so I replaced it, and apparently that one stayed at last week's venue. Now I've got to go out and get another one. How pesky.

********

I've been using a lot of turmeric for my hands -- taking it as a supplement and putting it directly on the skin. Also one of my hand creams has turmeric already in it. It's very interesting -- I'm having a little flare right now but it's far less painful or itchy than usual so I'm not going the steroid route yet. It does stain everything though, so I have my doubts about the "i" key on this white keyboard. I keep wiping it off. What price health, eh?

And any time I want to make curry, I've certainly got a lot of turmeric to work with now.

********

Speaking of food, I'm going to make some whole grain bread for my new friend, whom I will call Eagle, to bring tomorrow. (S)he's a strict vegan and doesn't even like the practice of cutting flowers. But I thought bread would be a perfect hostess gift*.

*I stumble over this transgender vocabulary, especially in the case of someone who physically remains the gender of birth, but chooses to dress and express as the other. I'll just refer to Eagle as she from now on.

And an old high school friend is a guest speaker on a radio show at 9:00 tonight (EST) and I promised I'd listen, maybe even call in. She's a Life Coach, Speaker, and Heart Virtues Expert (whatever that is; sounds good), and she raises horses. The show's tag line is: "You were more than you were led to believe: Five life-changing lessons from the horses." I'm really interested to hear what she has to talk about! This is one of the friends I found on Facebook but haven't seen for 33 years. It's at www.World-of-Perspective-Radio.com if anyone reads this in the next few hours and wants to tune in.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!