Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


February 15, 2009

8:54 p.m.

PostGig

I wind down slowly after the long drive. A two-day trip is just long enough, now. Our gig last night was a benefit for Habitat for Humanity. "Benefit" in this case does not mean that we didn't get paid. Our fee was good, and we also did two church services at the UU this morning, so it was padded still further.

A dear old friend from high school came, and brought his wife whom I hadn't met before. My heart was glad! Some other longtime fans came and the show was really fun. Carol thought she had some vocal difficulties but she sounded great. We were funny -- lots of zingers, running gags, comebacks. I also sold a small boatload of personal product, for which I'm grateful. (I don't mean "personal products," like soap, but stuff of my own, of course.)

After the services we met James and his girlfriend for lunch, and he finally bought my djembe. I came home with pockets full of money, in spite of not getting any money for the actual gigs yet. No one remembered to cut us the separate check for the church service, so that has to be mailed. Also the check for last weekend's big gig is still in the mail, so we're a little "between money." But it's all coming soon. And I had book and CD and djembe cash.

I would like to just state that I will not be buying any more yarn this month.

We got very little sleep last night, as we got to our hosts' house late and then stayed up another while talking with her and having snackies and wine. We really like these people. I slept so well, for the brief 5- hours I was in the bed, that I had no alarm anxiety whatsoever and didn't wake up for anything. When the alarm went off at 6am I had no idea what it was and couldn't find it for several seconds to turn it off. That almost NEVER happens on the road -- I'm such an anxious sleeper when I have to get up early for a gig. But when I went to bed I was so happy. The audience was lovely and we came out with such a warm feeling.

Getting up so early, though, and staying awake through two services and driving several hours home -- this was challenging. I was so close to falling asleep on the return drive that I had to pull over into a Park & Ride and close my eyes for 20 minutes. Got home safely, though.

My guts haven't been totally happy for a few days -- bloating issues again -- but it doesn't seem to be dampening my spirits too much. My hands are much better with the application of this and this. I'm still using the two non-steroidal creams my allergist gave me, maybe just to feel that I'm using all the guns, though they didn't seem to do much at all before I started using the vinegar. At this point it is quite amazing how much my skin has cleared up. Even if it's just a calm between storms, there is definitely some healing going on. Hallelujia!

I will keep trying. Now, time to knit some hats.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!