Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


January 23, 2009

11:06 p.m.

Five Minutes to Angel

What a busy couple of days. Just taking care of biz around here really, errands and gym-going and trying to find peace in a restless world. I saw my friend Melissa, to whom I owed a Reiki session, and had fun letting her cats in and out of the house all during the session. One would come in and the other go out; they'd cross like black Xs in the doorway. Ten minutes later, some cries and another switch.

She was so encouraging about my little cottage industry ideas, I felt much better about them and realized that most of my problem here is lack of confidence. I knew that. But that little bit of enthusiasm went a long way. I've since been revising my self image a bit, and cool things have been happening ever since. Okay, I used "since" twice in that sentence. In my defense, I'm aware of that, being as self-aware as I am.

Aware was I? So I was saying to Melissa, "You know, I need a friend with a shop!" Someone who could showcase my stuff in a local way without taking a huge commission. A public viewing, impulse buying sort of opportunity. So Sig called me up today and said his neighbor/friend just opened an art gallery about half an hour from here and he'd been talking up my books and music to her. She's interested in a) seeing the books, and b) having me perform a little set at next month's monthly wine and cheese art opening. I could sell CDs, books, whatever other arty thing I have available. (Oh, incidentally I know I used "month" twice a couple of sentences ago. See defense in previous paragraph.)

So I called her and had a wonderful chat; the gallery sounds wonderful (D'OH!) and she just thinks I'm the world's most accomplished Renaissance woman. All this time I thought I was just scattered. I'm going to see the space on Tuesday and show her my books. I'm pretty excited.

(happy dance)

It's a non-paying gig but I expected that. She's trying to get a business running. So am I. I asked her if people had been showing up for these things and she said they've had good crowds. I'll happily do it for sales and contacts.

Oddly, it's not wigging me out that it's my first solo gig in several years. I'll have loads of time in Florida to brush up on some material that will sell my albums. This feels like me, finding my road again. It's local, it's friendly, it came just when I asked for it out loud. I'm very grateful.

********

I finished the quilty wall hanging top layer. I learned a lot here about fabric combinations and where to put things... and where it's better not to put something... I did pretty well on the technique but I'd make different choices in the placements. Some patterns steal focus where you don't want it stolen. I'll still finish it but I don't know if I'll sell it. It'll be more impressive with the border and the back, and the quilting all over it, anyway.

Aside from going to the gym I worked on that thing ALL DAY, and after that I hemmed a pesky pair of pants. They're stretch cordeuroys and hard to sew on the machine. But they turned out well enough and now at least I can wear them. I have one more pair to do but I ran out of steam. I was going to watch a Netflix but I was too tired to concentrate.

Oh, I talked to my homeopathic student friend and she recommended a different remedy for the eczema. It's too far to drive to her without an excuse for being in the area, so she told me what it was and I got it at the local co-op. The things my allergist gave me to put on it pretty much don't do a whole lot. They might be slightly better than nothing but I've awakened the last 2 mornings because of itchy hands. It's quite bad right now. At least I'm not using the steroid cream more than once every so often, and now that I've taken this remedy I'm really trying not to use it at all. It's just life on life's terms, I tell myself, and carry on with all the Making.

Tomorrow there's a dinner party at Rose and Marc's, with the band, and R&M's Indian friends who are bringing chicken curry and roti. That'll be fun. I'm going early to help Rose cook some other dishes, throw in some laundry, and generally mess about with the kitties. I do love this part of my life.

I'm totally beat. (Did I mention this?) I rode the recumbent bike today instead of running -- trying to be kind to my joints. It's still quite a workout, that relaxing-looking, leaning-back bike. There are only 2 and they're usually taken, so I snagged this one on the spur of the moment. I wasn't prepared with a book or anything so I just listened to my iPod and gazed around, or sometimes closed my eyes. The best thing about it is the seat is comfortable. There are two hollows for one's buns. Why do the spin bikes have needle seats that kill the moment one sits on them? How do guys even use them?

Time for bed. The 11:11 angel is coming in five minutes and I have to be ready.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!